Instant patience in a jar

February 2, 2007

At the moment i am having to wait on God for an answer to something, the only trouble is i’m rubbish at being patient and it can be painful.

Life is full of opportunities to practise patience… whether it’s a spouse being slow, waiting for exam results to arrive, or enduring the frustration of a breakthrough you’ve been interceding for taking a long time to come about.

Our instant culture of microwave meals, replies to emails in split seconds means we come to expect everything whenever we want it or desire it – self control doesn’t seem to feature! If you desperately want something enough you will wait for it, and grow through the waiting process.

I have a tendency to try and rush things ahead of time, but just as taking a cake out before it’s fully baked would cause your stomach to be unhappy, so too rushing God for an answer can result in pain, hurt, anger and things going wrong.  I’m reminded of those verses often read at funerals about there being a time for everything.

Abraham waited til he was seriously old before what God promised him came about -that he would have many descendants.  His son is married at a late age… he waited 80 yrs for descendants to be born.  Don’t give up.  Keep waiting because God will come through.  It may be hard and you may doubt God’s hand in the situation, but He is faithful and will come through!

18 Responses to “Instant patience in a jar”

  1. The title of this post just made me laugh. It’s like praying the prayer, “Lord, grant me patience, and I want it right now!” God is never in a hurry, and His timing is always perfect, even though in our minds sometimes it might seem that He waits until the last minute. I pray the Lord will help me not to run ahead or lag behind in walking with Him.

    Blessings,
    Carol

  2. Lorna said

    yeah good writing :)

  3. inhisgrace said

    God’s promise to me this year is that He will be faithful and I ought to have more faith. bless you in your wait :)

  4. Trekant said

    Thought provoking.

    Someone recently described our society as ‘people standing in front of a microwave yelling “Hurry up!” ‘

    I’m always wanting God to answer me RIGHT NOW!

    Thanks.

  5. timglass said

    Is not waiting on God, an attempt to be our own God?
    His blessings, Maria.

  6. helenl said

    Waiting is hard. We are so tempted – after praying for an answer – to give God hints as to what that answer should be and to push Him along in His dawdling like we are the parent and He is the child.

  7. I love the analogy of the cake…It’s brilliant!

  8. stuartdelony said

    where do they sell this jar?

  9. Very True–God’s time is not our time. I have been waiting many years for a Promise from the Lord to be fulfilled–I am seeing things happen and I know it will happen in HIS time, not mine.
    I understand completely your frustration. This is another great post and very true.
    God Bless!

  10. It’s taken me a long time to gain some patience; I’ve learned the hard way that many times situations don’t need my direct intervention in order to turn out right. In fact, I’ve made them worse at times with my lack of patience. Nothing like humility as an antidote to impatience…

  11. Sis. Julie said

    I think we all have a problem with patience in some things. I know I do. I can’t tell you the number of times that I have gotten impatient and tried to help God out in a situation. You’d think I’d learn after all the messes I’ve made out of things to just sit back and wait…but I find myself not doing that. God sure is trying to teach me that though!!

  12. Maria,

    Thank you for visiting and for posting your kind comments on the site.

    I’m telling you something is happening, because so many ppl are dealing with some things really close to heart. And your last posts have hit right on the things I’ve been getting slammed with.

    Thanks for your posts. They help me to see I am not alone and that there God is still the answer in every situation.

  13. excellent post! i’m waiting for my new assignment to be discerned. but i’ve done my part, and i’m waiting for other people to do theirs – and hoping they choose what i want! i pray for detachment, for the Lord’s will to be done. but my own, often-conflicting feelings cannot be denied.

    waiting is one of the great christian virtues and for me one of the most difficult.

    please visit me at http://www.thegoodnewsofchrist.blogspot.com and livingtheeucharist.blogspot.com

    fr. ben hawley, sj

  14. liarac said

    Patience is something we learn more about as we develop abilities to burst out of our own jars. Unhappy people and undesirable circumstances teach us a lot about ourselves and our reasons for judgment. We all have the power to face adversity, to adapt, evolve and move forward.

  15. code6 said

    I am also in the the mist of waiting on God’s timing. It has not been easy by any stretch.

    “I will give you rain in due season.” lev 25:4

    “For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.” Hab 2:3

    There is saftey in God’s perfect timing. :-)

  16. Gabrielle said

    I think “practising patience”, as you say, Maria, is a good thing to remember. It doesn’t just come naturally to many of us, does it? :)

  17. danny101 said

    Yes, well said. I’m having trouble with patience as well!

  18. Jason99 said

    I’ve found, at least for myself, the greatest trouble with running out of patience is wondering if maybe whatever you want hasn’t happened yet because you did something wrong. I’ll spend forevere trying to “do it right”, make it better, and fix it up, and ultimately wind up depressed and discouraged.

    The Lor has been teaching me recently not to put so much on myself. It feels almost wrong to simply say, “Ok, I’ve done my part, now it’s up to you God, I’m just gonna have faith and leave you to do all the work. It seems irresponsible, but in fact, that’s the way it is supposed to be. It’s not easy to remain patiently faithful and not do anything. It is, however, far more relaxing than trying to push God ahead of schedule, and the end results are the same.

    Good post Maria. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

