Who Am I?

October 12, 2006

I’ve been having a discussion with a few friends via text message about ‘identity’, with mixed responses. My suggestion is that to discover one’s identity is to find meaning. The sticking point for some in the debate so far has been the place our gender has in determining what brings fulfilment and purpose in life.

People glibly say ‘women are multi-taskers, men are not’ or ‘men are from Mars, women are from Venus’. This suggests that we realise there’s something intrinsically different about us because of our masculinity and femininity. My question, then, is this: If we discover what it is to truly be male or female ‘inside’, then will our whole lives go smoother because we would have understood the core of who we are?

The late Pope, John Paul II, talked of the ‘genius’ of woman; I agree with him that gender is a remarkable and beautiful mystery, something far deeper rooted than just the practical physical differences.

To ask, ‘Who am i?’, echoes the question Jesus posed to his disciples, when discussing what others thought of him, turning to them and saying – ‘Who do you say i am?’ (Luke 9:20)

7 Responses to “Who Am I?”

  1. Paul Turner said

    I agree to find ones indentity is to find meaning. However, our identity is not just a matter of disovering ‘ourselves’ but more important it is recognising the unique relationships that we have. We have one father and mother and and if we are lucky and have a good family we can say ‘this is my family’ who give me my identity for they have given me life and unconditional love.

    Women experience these unique reltionships in a particular way for their have the potential to be ‘life bearers’ and so intintively understand relationships and life in a different way to men.

    The most important and unique relationship we have is with Jesus Christ for he has revelad God in the full and true way, and he is the only saviour. To recognise Jesus as our Lord and saviour as well as our brother is to recognise the true identity of God and to recongnise our true identity.

  2. mariatoth said

    Thank you for a well thought out response. Identity seems to be formed at many different levels, whether that’s from our gender, our family ties or our spirituality.

    I suppose the issue you’re raising, Paul, is that of discovering ones identity not just as male or female, but as male or female ‘in Christ’.

    So is to discover one’s identity as ‘daughter of God’ or ‘son of God’ to find meaning?

    (If you agree or disagree please have YOUR say!)

  3. As I stumble upon your posting I was very encourage to read this one as i had written one bearing this title.
    I agree to your thoughts as discovering one identity is based on that love relationship we have with Him. No one seeks after God on his or her own initiative. God takes the initiative to pursue a continuing love relationship with us. That love relatioship is very real,personal and practical. More than anything else that we might do,God wants us to love Him with our total being. That is why we are make sons and daughter to HIm.Praise God.

  4. Mag said

    I was just mulling this scripture in the last few days. The conclusion I drew is that it was about Jesus wondering if people knew his TRUE identity…ie, I am God’s son.

    It made me realize I do well to place my identity in the same line of thinking. People who know me, and know of me, do they think of me as obviously a “daughter of the King”? This is his primary concern. We spend so much time “finding ourselves” and wondering “what people think of ‘US’, that perhaps we miss the simple truth?

    Thanks for stopping by, and congrats on the success of your blog!

    Maggie

  5. Jason said

    Identity is a very interesting thing to study. We have identity as ethnicity, gender, political, religious, regional, and of course others. It can be a term used as self description or view, or how you think others view you. You started with gender identity, which if you look at the largest picture there is not that much of a difference as far as we are all seaking to be cared for, loved, and for some purpose. Gender identity has been associated with social standards as in some cultures the male might be the caregiver, but most cultures value the woman as the nurturer.
    Identity can also be a relative term to others, but rather then writting so much on yours perhaps i should post a view of this myself, HAHA. Good post :), i can identify 😉

  6. Chris said

    Maria,

    Can I ask you a question? Are you Catholic?

    Just curious.

    God bless you,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

