Sticks and Stones

October 21, 2006

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words with never harm me! 

I think it’s false to say words can’t harm us.  How many people never pursued a subject at school because their teacher gave no encouragement but put them down?  How many people end up ashamed of their bodies in adulthood because of words spoken negatively about them in teenage years?

Words DO affect us, it’s not just sticks and stones which get to us if attacked with them.  In fact, i’d go as far as to say that words are more powerful than physical attack.  A word can either build up or tear down, bring into life (a blessing) or cause death (a curse).

Words people speak to us can change history, change the course of our lives or theirs.  A word of encouragement can prevent someone leaping into a pit of despair.  The name of ‘JESUS’ has great power – power to free someone from that which kept them in captivity or to bring life (quite literally for Lazarus). 

Encourage those around you today.

“No man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?” (James 3:8-11)

20 Responses to “Sticks and Stones”

  1. misslionheart said

    This is so true. When I was eight or nine, a schoolfriend said my toes were weird during a P.E.class. I remember the moment vividly. I felt very hurt, my face burnt up and wanted to run home. (I still have a major problem with my toes to this day)
    I tell my children they are ‘just perfect’ if they question their appearance, because they are!

  2. Maria Toth said

    Lord, show MissLionHeart how YOU see her toes (after all YOU created them). Let all those who dislike a part of themselves either inside or out see themselves through Your eyes. Amen.

    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  3. AutumnRose said

    Yes, Amen!

    Just as you say to Your children, your toes are “just perfect” the way they are, misslionheart xx

  4. timglass said

    Thanks for the reminder. I will be an encourager today.

  5. Maria Toth said

    Ah, well done Tim. So many words spoken in the world today are words of criticism so i am determined to reverse that trend and encourage.

    God bless.
    Maria

  6. Too right!! I am currently recovering from a childhood full of negative words, including much verbal bullying from peers.

  7. Maria Toth said

    Lord, bring healing to all who have been hurt by words others have spoken to them. Bring wholeness and a love of self. Amen.

    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  8. Mike said

    I really like your by-line “Pray, hope, and don’t worry”

    Words I need to take to heart.

    Thank you for sharing.

  9. unitedcats said

    Children wouldn’t have a “sticks and stones can break my bones, but words can never hurt me” mantra if words truly were harmless. 🙂

    Doug

  10. Steve said

    Thank you I will Encourage those around me today.

    God Bless You.

    Steve

  11. Pro 25:11 A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.

    This to me is a beautiful picture of what “right speech” should be. May we all be more cautious concerning the words we allow to come out of our mouths.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  12. MissLionHeart,

    Here’s how God sees your feet:

    How beautiful on the mountains
    are the feet of those who bring good news,
    who proclaim peace,
    who bring good tidings,
    who proclaim salvation,
    who say to Zion,
    “Your God reigns!”

    Isaiah 52:7

  13. Maria Toth said

    Ha! Humour but truth in Pastor Bill’s comment.

    Seriously, i pray that everyone who visits this site comes to know the fullness of how amazing they are in God’s eyes!

    God bless
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  14. Jen said

    I think words can hurt more than sticks and stones at times. We need to be careful about what we say, because it might end up hurting someone. Words go a long way…

  15. teachmedad said

    I remember some kids making fun of me when I was about ten. I don’t remember any physical pains I suffered that year – they were healed and forgotten about – but I remember exactly where I was standing at the moment they began teasing me, it left such an indelible impression.

    I also remember a pastor giving me a hug and telling me God had a special plan in store for my life. Again, I remember exactly where I was standing.

    The power of words, negative and positive.

    May all of our words be to build up and encourage!

  16. Esther said

    Aloha Maria:
    I’ve enjoyed reading and visiting your blog. This one in particular.
    Mahalo and God bless,

  17. enit said

    Wow. well said.
    its true.. words hurt.. a lot
    Thsnkyou for that friendly reminder

    stay blessed
    Christine

  18. Jason said

    Words are indeed powerful. It reminded me of the phrase “the pen is mightier then the sword.” I am a psychology major and definatly recognize the power of the spoken word. A simple honest comliment can brighten someone’s day, as a cutting insult and ruin one.

  19. Very powerful words, Maria.

Leave a Reply

