One of those days

October 24, 2006

I woke to discover i had forgotten to set my alarm.  Consequently I was running 20 mins late.  Zooming to the station in my car was probably not the safest of plans but i did it anyway.  The coins i put in the ticket machine spat back at me, so i quickly scrawled a note to explain that i had tried to pay my car park fee & stuck the message to my windscreen. 

Running from my car to the platform i was stopped in my tracks by a loud siren noise which i soon discovered upon spinning round was the beeping of my car alarm.  Puffing from my manic half hour i ran back to the car to close the door which i had left slightly ajar before embarking on the jog back up the hill again to the platform.  Jumping on the train i wondered what the rest of the day would hold…

Do you ever have ‘one of those days’?  You know, the ones where everything you touch seems to be tough?  One in particular sticks in my mind.  I’d risen before 5am, had a hard day at work, had struggles with a good friend, walked miles to visit a sick relative in ICU, then got back late only to find the garden flooding…

In these situations i have two options – 1.) to despair (cry; get angry) or 2.) to turn to praise.  Essentially i get to choose death or life.  As i cleared away the water from my flooding garden the rain fell down heavily and i chose to sing praises to God out loud even though it would’ve been easy to cry.  Praise in affliction and difficulty confuses the Devil and raises our souls to heaven, releasing a profound and mystical JOY!

“I set before you today life and prosperity, death and destruction. This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him.” (Deuteronomy 30:15 & 17-19)

18 Responses to “One of those days”

  1. mmog37 said

    W.T.G. =)

    it’s not always easy but choosing to Praise regardless of the situation is always the right way to Go!

    Good Post!

  2. It’s always that choice, isn’t it? Very simple choice between life and death, between spreading the life or the death. Death is so easy to choose, because we live in dying flesh, but life is so much sweeter when you choose it.
    Great post, Maria.

  3. Sharla said

    I love that verse. You are right and glad you brought it up! Life!
    : )
    Shar

  4. timglass said

    Much like Abraham’s test, we too are tested in our obedience to God. Even in the “one of those days” circumstances. The broad way or the narrow way, it is ever before us. Let’s choose life!

  5. AutumnRose said

    “Praise in affliction and difficulty confuses the Devil and raises our souls to heaven, releasing a profound and mystical JOY!”

    I love that sentence! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. hey there maria. thanks for the comment on my blog.

    u know, sometimes when i’m having one of those sorts of days praise can come out from my mouth there. and it’s joyful. but other times, even though the praise may come out from my mouth, in my heart, it doesn’t feel genuine.

    in those times, i read through job and some of the psalms. and as i’m reading those psalms, i end up praying them. my dad was right when he said that if a christian at times wants to know how to pray, all they have to do is read the psalms because you’ll find almost the entire gamut of emotions there.

  7. Julie said

    Maria … glad to find your blog. On many levels it seems so obvious that we would want to “choose life” and not “death” … but sometimes it’s just so easy to slip into the despair mode, or complacency, or whatever. I often have to remind myself that it is okay to choose the “blessings” over the “curses”!

  8. Maria Toth said

    Welcome to new visitors to this site. May you have a life giving day and be able to rise above all difficulty. Amen.

    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  9. I once had a condensed version of a terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-day. Do you remember this story? Click on the following link and you can listen to this story:
    http://www.kennedy-center.org/programs/family/alexander/

  10. helenl said

    Maria, What you say is true, but sometimes between despair and praise comes a deep, cleansing breath and the momentary closing of one’s eyes.

  11. James said

    Hi Maria –

    Just how come you get so many visitors to you blog?! For all you who read this – go on – have a look at mine…it’s not interesting, but at least will brighten my day to know there are comments….! I’m close to giving up on it…

    http://www.dailybrouhaha.blogspot.com

  12. Peter said

    Yes, I’ve had days like that, and it’s quite hard sometimes to do a #2. I often find getting angry is what happens. Ah well, God’s not finished with me yet.

    When my lot in life is well, a lot, it’s often good to consider what might be going on elsewhere: http://www.barnabasfund.org/archivenews/article.php?ID_news_items=229

    Then, perhaps my little troubles have a much better perspective and I can concentrate on those in real need….

  13. Psalm 63 said

    T’is true. Praise is the perfect antidote in all times of struggle innit? It’s true that our hearts might not always sing praise with us (benedictine, earlier post) but ideally they’ll follow our lips not long after.

    Not too sure what you think Maria but praise isn’t just a matter of saying black is white and that we’re happy when we’re mourning, for example. It’s about praising God for the very reason that we are mourning; that we are capable of mourning; that mourning makes us human and that even the pain can make us feel alive.

    I’m still working on praising the Lord for sheer drudgery and days where everything just seems to be going pear-shaped….Thanks be to God for your example Maria.

    xxx

  14. There is nothing like praising God that will lift our spirits, even in the worst of circumstances. It’s not always easy to do, but when we lift our praises to God, it can not only liberate us, but others as well.

    Act 16:25 And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.
    Act 16:26 And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.

    When Paul and Silas chose to praise God in spite of their pain and the crummy, smelly prison that they were in, God not only unloosed their shackles, but the other prisoners were loosed as well. I believe this is why the devil hates praise so much and tries to hinder us from doing it.

    our problems + praising God = victory, deliverance, miracles, etc.

    our problems + complaining = despair, depression, discontent, etc.

    Lord, help us to praise our way out of our struggles!

    Bountiful blessings to you,

    Carol

  15. Grace said

    I’ve been completely bowled over by your post today. First I want to say sorry that I didn’t get the chance to check how your day was going today. Secondly, I’d like to say thankyou, the next time I’m in these situations I’ll try your advice.

  16. storbakken said

    Thanks for the encouragement. Our God is an awesome God. And even in our deepest despair we can call on Him (and should!).

    morefire.wordpress.com

  17. hikeoflife said

    In my own life when I start it with praise it helps me keep the right perspective. But to mant times when I am in the middle of a really rough day and I fell like I can’t praise, it’s when I started the day wrong to start with. In both ways the days can be really bad but it sure changes your perspective.
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I look forward to reading yours more often.
    Jeff

  18. unitedcats said

    I dunno, laughter works well for me on days like that. When everyone goes wrong, I just figure it’s God’s gentle way of reminding me not to take life so seriously.

    JMO and BB
    Doug

Leave a Reply

