Hassle is proof of true living

October 29, 2006

I don’t like conflict, therefore i seek to do all i can to eliminate or prevent it.  The downside to my peace making is a tendency to try and please people, but as we all know it’s not possible to please everyone!

One of the amazing things about having a belief in God and a relationship with Jesus is that i have focus, something to be the motivation for all i do.  Ultimately everything i do should be what i think or know God would have me do.  Therefore, rather than pleasing people i need to please God.

Pleasing people is for a quiet life, for lack of hassle, but being a Christian is about hassle.  If i don’t get hassle for my faith then i’m probably not living it out fully.  We will come up against resistance and difficulty as we seek to go against what alot of people expect.  That can be hard, especially if it’s with close friends or family.

Our hope needs to be our eternal reward of life with LOVE itself, rather than the place void of love.

“Take up your cross and follow me!”

16 Responses to “Hassle is proof of true living”

  1. misslionheart said

    Good morning Maria. Thanks for dropping by. I hope you are resting!

  2. Maria, I hope your conference went well and you are now able to rest a little.

  3. timglass said

    I tend to be (maybe) a little overzealous, a bit passionate, and sometimes that lends itself to conflict. Particularly when it comes to the things of God. In those instances, I am reminded of Christ’s words,” Do you think that I have come to establish peace on the earth? No, I tell you, but rather division.” Luke 12:51
    So, yes, pleasing Christ is far more rewarding, in the end, than pleasing man.

  4. Maria,
    One of my handicaps has always been trying to please people-until recently when it seems like I just stopped trying.

  5. helenl said

    Most of us would like to live hassle-free lives. But once we know what God has called us to do, we must do it (or “woe is me!”). Sadly, much of the hassle comes from other Christians, who belive they understand what God wants better than we do. I, for example, cannot imagine what you needed to do at a Saturday conference when you were so tired, but I think you know, and that is what counts. It’s really none of my business.

    Sometimes being a Christian is about hassle, and sometimes it is about withdrawing from the hassle and opinions of the world (including other Christians) and spending time alone with Jesus (for the purpose of returning, once again refreshed, to the hassle.)

  6. AutumnRose said

    This reminds me of a song we sang at Mass last night, the last verse of which goes:

    “Be glad the day you have sorrow,
    be glad, for then you live.
    The stars shine only in darkness,
    and in your need I give my peace.”
    (Anne Conway)

    Have a great day of rest today, Maria xx 🙂

  7. Hi Maria,

    I hope you enjoyed that extra hour today.

  8. Moe said

    Maria,

    I tend to avoid conflicts, too. You’re right, the down side to being a “peace maker” is than feeling like you have to be a “peaple pleaser” to make that happen. It’s a hard balance sometimes, or at least, it can be for me, but it does change things when my focus is where it should be; on God.

    I enjoyed reading through your site. 🙂

    -Kelsey

  9. Roo said

    “If you do not have enemies, then you are not doing something worthwhile.”

    I remember that from somewhere, but I can’t remember who said it. If I don’t have enemies, I’m not carrying my cross. I’m avoiding it.

    It’s like the ring of hell where the indecisive run around being stung by bees. They have no enemies, but they have no sure friends either.

    Taking a stand and raising a banner is a stressful thing to do, especially when you are standing up for the Truth. So many people hate the Truth because they think it will restrict them rather than set them free. Sometimes its more than a hassle, it’s the path to a quick end!

    When the hassles come, take your strength from Christ. Our moments of prayer and meditation prepare us for the struggles of the day. The arrows of our enemies become water off a ducks back with Christ in our lives.

  10. Maria Toth said

    Reminds me too of a preaching where we were asked if we had enemies, and if we didn’t then perhaps we weren’t truly living the Christian life, because if we were then people would oppose!

    Every blessing
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  11. Lorna said

    conflict is actually a Christian thing to do, but it must be done in love.

  12. Jason said

    I also dislike conflict, but also realize it is required for change. It is necessary for fixing wrongs. But as lovingly as we can we must proceed to help our brothers and sisters out, even in conflict. Thanks for the post :), sometimes its hard speak when it may cause conflict, but it must be done.

  13. lifeform said

    I think I avoid hassle-and I think it has hurt my ability to witness. Thanks for a post showing the positive side of ‘hassle’

  14. tommyjoe said

    Maria:

    I too am nonconfrontational, and like you I often have to be careful that I don’t always try to please everyone. Sometimes, what drives me is the verse about “. . . as much as lieth in you is, live peaceably with all men.” At times, as much as lieth in you is just not enough, and there are those who will not be peaceable. The remedy is just as you said, do your best to please God, and HE will make things turn out all right! Another good thought you had!!

    God Bless,
    Tom in CA in the US

  15. tommyjoe said

    Maria:

    Sorry to comment twice and take up space on the blog, but another verse come to my mind. It goes something like this (sorry I don’t have a Bible by my side at the moment):

    “If a man’s ways please the Lord, he maketh even his enemies to be at PEACE with him.” In that sense, CONFLICT doesn’t always indicate a man is living pleasing to God. In some ways, I believe there will be some conflict in life, but I guess my “philosophy” leans more toward LIVING a quiet and peaceable life. I think that’s what God would have us do–sometimes in spite of conflict.

    – Tom

  16. Alex said

    If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. — John 15:18,19

    Isn’t foreshadowing cool?! This just goes to show that if we are truly living as He did, then we will be treated as He was.


    AD

Leave a Reply

