Force feeding is good for you!

November 2, 2006

Feeding time at the zoo can be fun to watch – especially the gorillas! 

Have you ever travelled somewhere, either to visit relatives or some clients or simply been on the receiving end of someone elses hospitality?  As i’ve swanned around the globe there have been occasions where i have been served food i’d rather not try, or been given drinks at a time when i’m desperate for the toilet…

It’s those situations where you know in your mind what you want to do, but equally feel the need to be polite.  Sometimes i have a space in my day when i have no plans, and there’s a gentle calling from God to spend time with Him.  I know it’s only polite to bend to a gentleman’s request, especially when He doesn’t demand, but simply offers me to come and be with Him.

The battle between what i WANT to do and what i know i OUGHT to do rages.  Every day we are in a battle between light and dark, between good and evil.  I know i need to pray to protect myself, to give thanks to God… just because without it i am in danger.  It can be easy to stay in the danger zone, but, like when i’m offered food i don’t feel like eating, i need to take time out to be with God. 

If i spent a few hours a day watching television or on the internet, do i balance that with time in prayer and the Word of God?  Mmm… how would my weekly scales tip between leisure and God-time?

21 Responses to “Force feeding is good for you!”

  1. Lorna said

    I think there’s a lot of dualistic thinking in this post. I’m trying to come to a point where my time is 24/7 God’s … watching the TV /internet do not have to be time away from God, they too can and should be part of my life as a Christian I think.

    What is important of course is that I do schedule time for prayer and the Word, for worship in its many forms – because giving God my undividied attention is important. It’s about building a relationship – but that relationship has to spill into my life in every way – cannot be divided into God’s time and other.

    if that makes sense???

  2. Ouch! That hurt-I took an inventory and was found lacking. Thanks for the admonition, Maria.

  3. celeste said

    Good post…and after thinking about it, it’s almost scary how much time I spend on the computer or doing other things, and how little time I spend with God.

    Nice site!

  4. timglass said

    I think Lorna is right on with this! It shouldn’t be “my” time instead of “God’s” time, but it should be “our” time. Like it says in Col. 3:17,”And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”
    Everything.
    Happy All Souls Day!

  5. Maria Toth said

    Yeah… makes sense, but until i have time out just for contemplative [rayer then it can’t spill out into my computer time or TV viewing time.

    Every blessing
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  6. Keith M. said

    Convicting. Really Good.

  7. christiekk said

    I have been torn in the past on this issue: Leisure time vs God’s time…Yes, in everything we do, we should give praise to God, and really, if we breathe and live through& in Him, shouldn’t every minute of our live be destined to praise Him? I have found being on the internet, randomly visiting web pages,with no defined purpose, or just sitting in front of the TV for hours can be draining.There needs to be a balance. I have realized if I can’t feel God’s presence while I am doing something, then I probably should not be doing it…

  8. Tomas said

    Dear Maria,
    After putting the post to one of my blogs, I came to your site and after reading you article, I could just say… wow. We use different words, but our messages have the identical smell… Thus let me republish my post as my comment now.

    We (my wife, our children and I) were going to visit my father in law and could choose from two different roads to drive there. One was a bit shorter than the more pictorial one that was cheaper according to our car fuel demand.

    We are used to hear “our consciousness determines our choices’ and that’s nice indeed. However, not I was at a wheel on our trip to the fathers in law. I was just a passenger and thus had more than enough time for the musing on the place of beauty in our life.

    It would be logical to conclude from the mentioned above that I am on a string of my family. However, it would be very erroneous judgment. Though my living on a disability pension (having no money) explains the short distance of my wanderings, but that reveal nothing in essence. Life teaches to discover the spiritual beauty in what I have and that comforts and inspires more than what looks nice and is accepted by the most people.

  9. Keith M. said

    I agree with you. I don’t think that God meant for us to sit around and be pious and never do anything but pray, fast and listen to sermons. Part of the reason I believe this is because we aren’t saved by works, these things focus on works. HOWEVER, if you can do these things and completely glorify God in them, then it is good. But if you are saying, “I have to be very pious, pray for an hour every day…” then you are too stubborn to realize that works are as filthy rags. Balance is definately the key. I imagine that as a boy Jesus played games, don’t you?

  10. helenl said

    Hi Maria, I don’t understand this post. God never “force feeds” us; we are always free to come to Him or stay away. Of course, we need to, but where is the “force”? And isn’t all time God’s time, whether we are watching televison with Him or praying (talking and listening to Him)? I don’t think God has a tally sheet: One for me, one for Him. I think we need to live in God’s arms, because we choose to.

  11. I do usually spend time every morning in prayer and reading of the Word, and I believe we should set aside a special time for God and God alone. Sometimes though, we may feel that gentle nudging maybe to spend more time in prayer or in the Word, because maybe there is something God wants to show us or there could be somebody that needs our prayers at that time. It’s at those times when it may seem inconvenient that we have a choice to follow the nudging or go on with what we were doing.

  12. Roo said

    As soon as I get up in the morning, it’s Rosary Time. But I’ve found lately, if I’m on break and playing a mindless video game or crocheting, I sing the Gloria or a hymn to myself. Poppit! and the sweater I’m working on has become prime prayer time. Sometimes, we find time to adore in the strangest places, often unconsciously. God will call to our hearts even if our heads aren’t listening.

    With Love,
    Roo

  13. Maria,
    Once again, thank you for a post that’s very relevant to how we live today.

    I love the thought – though I don’t know who is responsible for it – that goes like this; “more of him and less of me.” We all know that the more we allow God to lead us and live through us, the greater our lives will be. But with that being said, I also wrestle with being a good steward of my time. I am blessed that at times I am open to the leading of God and he has lead me to and through some very wonderful times in my life, both of giving and receiving — and is still doing so. But then there are those times when I just do what I want to do, not evil — just selfish. It’s not so much what I do that’s selfish; it’s the heart I do it with.

    Romans 12:1-2
    Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.
    Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

    Every time my mind goes to these verses, there is a passion ignited in me because this is what I really want with my life. I want to give it as an offering; the scripture says this is my spiritual act of worship. If I will lay my body down as a sacrifice to God, and remember that I have been sacrificed to him, I believe it will make my day to day living a lot more God lead. If my day is lead by him then he will receive honor, glory, and praise, and by his strength I will be living a life of worship to God,

    Thanks again Maria for the hospitality we receive here, this is a very friendly place on the web. Thanks also for your heart felt words when you visited, and please feel free to stop in again.

    We’ll all be waiting for your Ephesians 3:20-21 post.

  14. mmog37 said

    I was doing a little self checking lately and have been dealing with the same thing…I came across this quote that I thought was rather sobering…
    “If your heart takes more pleasure in reading novels, or watching TV, or going to the movies, or talking to friends, rather than just sitting alone with God and embracing Him, sharing His cares and His burdens, weeping and rejoicing with Him, then how are you going to handle forever and ever in His presence…?” – Keith Green

  15. That was awesome!
    Thanks for sharing

  16. becktan said

    I like your writing. 🙂 Thanks for your tags.

  17. Keith M. said

    Yeah, that is a convicting thought mmog37, it is hard to put God above our earthly possesions. I think that I have FAR to much, which keeps me from God.

    The less you have on earth the more thankful you are with God.

    when we don’t have things to steer us away from God, then it is easier to put Him first.

  18. […] Blogger: Maria at In His Hands has opened up some thoughts on the struggle of balancing of leisure time with the God Time. […]

  19. Excellent post, Maria! You have done an excellent job encouraging us all to keep our priorities in order. Balance is what we need!

    Thanks for these excellent thoughts,
    -bill

  20. Tony said

    I know exactly what you are talking about. I have been a believer for 20 years now and I still have the same struggle. Choose to follow the still small voice. It is always the correct action.

    T

  21. Jason said

    Thanks for the reminder, i really should organize a specific time during the day for God time rather then just when it happends. Usually its something like, “oo that was an interesting idea which passage talks about that”, then look it up or prayer real quick. HAHA. Relationships are two-way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

