Do you love YOU?

November 3, 2006

Talking about loving ourselves can seem a funny thing, but there is something profound in it.  God loves me whether i have a bad hair day or get grumpy, but do i? 

I can disapprove of my looks, my behaviour, but underneath all that can i still love who i am?  Until i reach the point of loving who i am then i can’t fully receive the love others try to give me because i will have a guarded wall up around me. 

How do i let the wall down?  Well, allowing God’s Love for me to seep through my skin is the answer, and hearing his affirmation in spite of my sinfulnness: spending time in His presence asking Him to reveal His love can be a painful thing because it requires vulnerability and trust, but with God there guiding us it can be a life giving process.  We can only love others to the extent to which we’ve allowed God to love us. 

We can only give what we have received.  It’s the whole thing of those who have been forgiven much by God will be more compassionate and forgiving. 

Jesus exhorts us to love one another as i have loved you, but that loving begins by loving yourself as God loves you.   You are loveable not because of what you do or how you look, but because of your identity in Christ, in whom you have your origin.

18 Responses to “Do you love YOU?”

  1. Tomas said

    There is a saying,
    Love needs no words.

    I am the happiest man,

    Thank you.

    Your post is simply wonderful

  2. Cathy said

    I saw you posted on REvGalBlogPals – so I came to your site – I invite you to consider being a part of the ring.
    http://www.ringsurf.com/netring?ring=candlemb;action=addform

    Very nice blog!

  3. timglass said

    Great thought, Maria!
    His blessings this day!

  4. christiekk said

    Amen Maria!

    This statement in particular stood out: We can only love others to the extent to which we’ve allowed God to love us. Ha! sometimes
    I can be my harshest critic…

    It’s unrealistic to believe we can wholeheartedly love others, if we haven’t experienced God’s love…

    God Bless

  5. Keith M. said

    we can only give what we have received
    I like that alot, we have nothing outside of Christ.

  6. Alex said

    While this can be important, it can also be very difficult while remaining humble, but point well taken. Thank you.
    God bless

    AD

  7. Mel said

    So true, and we can’t love others properly until we love ourselves. What a good post. Have a wonderful day. 🙂

  8. Chris D said

    Hi Maria–beautiful post! Thank you again for sharing.

    I’m going to do a little post on your site–it’s so beautiful!

    Regards from Chris

  9. In their song “Who am I” Casting Crowns writes…

    Not because of who I am — But because of what You’ve done — Not because of what I’ve done
    But because of who You are…

    Thanks Maria, for reminding us where our identy is found, and just how loveable we are because of Jesus.

  10. Maria Toth said

    YOU ARE LOVEABLE! – Just wanted to re-iterate that message!

    Nice to hear from you all.
    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  11. Jam 2:8 If ye fulfil the royal law according to the scripture, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself, ye do well:

    Blessings,

    Carol

  12. Celeste said

    This is going to sound weird or made up, but today these very thoughts were running through my head!
    I have got to learn to accept myself and love myself and realise that I am UNIQUE because God made me that way…and that I don’t need to fit into a mold!
    It’s not in what I can DO or BE but what I AM in Christ that matters! And since He loves me, I should love myself too, then spread that love 🙂

    Glad I found you, I’m adding you in my links!

  13. helenl said

    When we do not love ourselves, it’s like saying God is wrong.

  14. misslionheart said

    I love me!

  15. misslionheart said

    I cant understand why my pic isn’t displayed?

  16. Maria,

    This is the one question everyone, deep down, asks themself – “Am I Loved” It is what we want more than anything. And yet, it seems only those that believe they should love themselves because they were made in the image of God can deeply believe God loves them. No one can truly love their neighbor without loving themself. A husband can’t really love his wife without loving himself.
    So we are back to what does Love mean, then??Love isn’t indugence, love isn’t flattery. Love is SACRAFICE.

    I love coming here ~ what deep things you stir up in my soul!

  17. dulcediana said

    Hi!
    I found your site browsing around. For too long has it been taught to me that we must love others, because it is Jesus’ 2nd commandment. I was frustrated for too long because I did not understand this concept. I felt guilt because I ‘did not love others’.
    God has shown me it’s all about let HIM love us showing us what love is. From there on, we can love whomever, and yes even ourselves. Thank you for your post! And Thank YOU Jesus!
    Blessings,
    Diana

  18. Tomas said

    Today is windy and and dark and I didnt know how to name that mood in English rightly, BUT I have recaled your blog. You simple yet hearty words have warmed me more than I can express or understand.
    THANK YOU

Leave a Reply

