Splash me til i’m soaking!

November 8, 2006

Lying in the bath last night i was reflecting on water being a symbol of purifying and cleansing… not my usual musings while bathing, i admit. 

I thought about how the water in the bath is like God’s forgiveness washing over me, so i have decided today that every time i am confronted with water i will ponder on God’s gift of forgiving me and freeing me from my faults and failings! When i wash my hands, do the washing up, pass a river… at those moments i will try to remember to reflect on the gift of God’s love in the form of freeing me! 

Until i’m aware of my falleness and sinfulness i won’t truly appreciate all God has done for me.  Lord, let water act as a trigger today of how much we are loved by You. 

God wanted our freedom, wholeness and joy so much that He lowered Himself to be born as a baby, then die a criminals death to take on the consequence of our wrongdoings so we don’t have to bear them!  Wow, that is sacrifical love.

No sin is too big to be forgiven! Let water make you feel thankful today!

“Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.” (Psalm 51:7)

16 Responses to “Splash me til i’m soaking!”

  1. Coops said

    Thanks Maria. I’m going to do that tomorrow.

    (BTW, your feed is one I ended up subscribing to!)

  2. Pat said

    Thanks for visiting my blog!
    I just read yours this morning, and loved it!
    How wonderful to know that we can be washed whiter than snow and that in Jesus no sin is to big to be forgiven!! Like you said, WAHOO!

  3. timglass said

    Great idea! Thanks.
    His blessings this day.

  4. Celeste said

    You know, the more I think about God, and Who He Is and What He Has Done, the more I feel amazed at the huge depth of His work and love. It’s something we won’t ever fully understand down here, but it’s amazing.

    I’ll be looking out for water today, thanks 🙂

  5. Bill said

    Want to hear something funny? When I scrolled down to the end of this post I got the previous post’s title in my mind and ended up reflecting on the idea of “splash me ’til I’m sensible”.

    I realized that I got it wrong, as far as your posts. But, then I thought: Perhaps depending on the cleansing power of God is the only sensible way of living.

    Blessings to you, Maria,
    -bill

  6. christiekk said

    Profound thought!! Thanks God for forgiveness of our sins.
    Thanks Maria.
    Thanks for your comments on my blog!!

    God Bless!

  7. dulcediana said

    Amazing how something so simple can become a spiritual inspiration. I thank God He left but left us a Counselor, his Holy Spirit, to guide us and teach us the way.

    Bless you,
    Diana

    PS: Thanks for posting on my site Maria.

  8. AutumnRose said

    What wonderful imagery ~ I too find water very powerful and have those kind of thoughts in the bath quite often! I often need to be washed clean, too 😉

  9. Steve said

    Living water Clense my heart and fill my soul.
    Thanks for the thoughts.

    Bless You Maria.

    Steve.

  10. keith M. said

    Good thoughts, good idea, good luck! Anything that can get you to reflect on God! And think about him and his forgiveness.

  11. Chris D said

    Lovely thoughts as always! Thank you, Maria; it’s my little cup of cold water!

  12. Amazing post Maria! I find myself grinning every time I visit your blog – it’s obvious that the Spirit of God is not bound by the width or depth of the ocean or held by the constraints of time – because as soon as I read your post I sensed his moving in my life. You have a wonderful gift of insight, thanks for sharing it with us.

    In Him,
    Jamie

  13. stuartdelony said

    that reminds me… I need a bath! thanks maria!

  14. Jason said

    so true. and kudos to your dedication to checking so many people’s blogs and commenting.

  15. “splash me til I am soaking” – if there were an award for the most intriguing and unique post title I would have to vote for you. Wonderful insight and imagery – you are a beautiful writer!

    I will do this.

Leave a Reply

