Sit down, you’re rockin’ the boat!

November 13, 2006

Do you ever feel out of your depth?  Challenges hit us on all sides daily, both big and small.

I feel inadequate in many areas of life.  Knowing that i fall short in something can result in mope-mode!  i.e. I moan and groan about how i can’t deal with something.  I often feel ill equipped to fully be who i could be in relationships, at work and in my prayer life.  It’s a general theme of falling short.

Parents know what it is like to feel inadequate as a parent – there are no heaven sent manuals for each child, and they ARE all unique so need different handling.

So many people throughout the history of salvation felt too weak, too old, too inexperienced for what they were being called to.  Moses declared that God was being foolish appointing him as leader as he struggled in the area of speaking, Joshua felt too young and David quite frankly looked a fool – the armour he was given to fight in was too bulky, uncomfortable and too big!!

Did these feelings of inadequacy stop these people from fulfilling the call God had on their lives?  Did it get them down and cause them to give up?  The great witness their tales give are that their lack in human terms could have had an impact on the whole of history.  If Mary had of said – No! – where would we be at today? 

Acknowledging that we are weak is good, but we then have a choice – 1) mope and groan; 2) Allow God to be the strength in our area of weakness. If we allow Him, God can achieve the seemingly impossible in and through us.

Everyday i face situations where i think ‘i can’t do it’, and it’s true, i can’t… but God working in me can!  The easy option can be to walk away or shirk responsibility, but i know that whatever area i’m feeling weak in that’s not the end of the line… the situation can be transformed!

13 Responses to “Sit down, you’re rockin’ the boat!”

  1. Read your blog and loved it.Hey it is only when we know that we are weak that we will be able to rise and find strength..above all in His strength. Thanks for the thought as I wa just struggling with some issue within our Christian community.

  2. I’m sure they wrestled with their weaknesses as we do now. But God got the job done through them. Good thoughts!

  3. eija said

    You’ve no idea how timely this was…

    I’m missing a rss-feed for your blog – I use bloglines and since I haven’t found a feed from your blog, I always forget coming here 😦 I know that WordPress does support rss feeds, maybe it’s just this template that doesn’t? If you need help setting it up, I think I can assist you.

  4. timglass said

    Amen!
    Phil. 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”
    His blessings this day.

  5. Tomas said

    Thank you. Your words were what I need the most at the moment.
    While recalling God’s people, we feel ourselves as comforted as healed and our response to God’s call becomes joyful “Yes!” then.
    While looking at what could be done by me. I dive in desperation and self pity. It seems that one and only way to survive is in going abroad… But when I recall God the impossible becomes possible and while having nothing (literally) I invite people to visit my new art exhibitions, and thus the prayer exchanges so the weeping into the rejoicing at the beauty of God’s creation that was entrusted to us to keep.

    While reading your blog I become free from confusion. I hearty thank you for the posts that are like healing drink of the Scriptures.
    Thus I name your blog the prayer book that I carry with myself everywhere I go.

  6. Jessica said

    We can do anything with God’s help! 🙂

  7. Thanks I needed that. I am 27 years old and often feel like I need more growing up to do. When I start to compare myself to others my age, I see such confidence in knowing what they want to do with their life. I am still kind of lost about that.

  8. Celeste said

    Great thoughts…so true. Your posts are always uplifting. Thanks.

  9. If we bring our inadequacies and weaknesses to God in prayer, He will give us the strength we need to rise and meet the challenge. I often feel weak and inadequate as a parent and a pastor’s wife, but I pray about it often and ask God to be my help. I think God allows us to have weaknesses so we will learn to lean on Him.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  10. Your post made me think of two passages:

    1) Zechariah 4:6, “So he said to me, “This is the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the LORD Almighty.”

    2) 2 Corinthians 3:4-6, “4Such confidence we have through Christ before God. 5Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. 6He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant—not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”

    You’ve done an excellent job of drawing us into the heart of God! Thanks!!

    -bill

  11. mmog37 said

    amen…

    one of the best lessons I have learned is that I can do nothing on my own…and that 100% of the time God gives me assignments that I can not do without Him…and upon their completion the only one who is able to take the credit or recieve the glory from it is HIm…so I no longer gripe…I just go along with it and prepare to be amazed =)

  12. 2 Corinthians 12:9
    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

    Thanks Maria — your post is very encouraging!

  13. shannon said

    Saw your site at timellsworth.com.

    On July 25th at 11pm CST, Thought Quotient will randomly choose one del.icio.us user who bookmarked thoughtquotient.com, and send him or her a money order for $50, no strings attached.

    http://www.thoughtquotient.com/2006/11/15/delicious-contest-bookmark-thoughtquotientcom

Leave a Reply

