Feather Duster!

November 15, 2006

I have a confession to make – i have never used a feather duster!  This doesn’t mean i have avoided spring cleaning, quite the contrary – i love tidying (only when i’m in the mood for it, though!).

We’re going through an office transformation at the moment with new desks being added and old ones re shuffled.  In all of this re-organisation i have been reminded how in an orderly environment it is possible to be more given over to God.  If i have clutter around me it weighs on me, distracts me or even disturbs me and makes me less available to God.

It is the same with my interior life.  If i am busy thinking things such as, i ought to book the car in for a service, or i need to get a birthday present for my sister, then they act as distractions.  However, if  am efficient and organised i can eliminate those distractions… Perhaps i could try re-taking up something i used to do – that is, writing the things i need to remember (either things i need to pray for or simply to remember to do) down on a bit of paper before beginning my prayer time so i don’t end up using the time for God as a memory game of ‘oh, i must remember to do x, y or z’ rather than focusing on Him!

If i don’t create order in my day and book in slots in for rest, relaxation, exercise, family time and most importantly for prayer i end up getting frustrated and more tired!

Today’s plan of action – create order in my life and have a ruthless clear up!

24 Responses to “Feather Duster!”

  1. Oh yes – you are so right! I find I get so easily frustrated when I am not in balance with my spiritual time etc.

  2. Order? Ah yes, I remember that word! Good reminder at this time.

  3. Joanne said

    love your site, thank you for calling to my site God bless you

  4. Maria,
    Thank you for visiting my blog. I have had a wonderful opportunity to visit yours and read many beautiful things you have written. I apologize for not responding before.

  5. Raymond said

    Great post – finding ways to remove distractions is a great idea. I also like the word “ruthless” in “ruthless clear up” – I often find I am too cautious in my clear ups and so either nothing gets done or else it takes forever!

    Funny thing is that, depending on your personality, I’ve found some methods of removing distractions can become distractions in themselves – I’m a “list-maker” by nature, so discovering writing to-do lists was a good way of undistracting my prayer times and life in general was great to start with – then I drifted slowly into obsession with my to-do lists, letting them rule my life!! Still, it’s about balance, and about treating things like todo lists as tools, since they’re great slaves, but poor masters – so I’m letting the pendulum swing back in my ylife now…

  6. timglass said

    Three cheers for routine!
    His blessings this day.

  7. Maria Toth said

    Thanks everyone!

    A quick one to say – please pray for the Japanese as they are awaiting a Tsunami!

    God bless
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  8. Your fine post reminds me of Jesus saying “if your eye is single, then your whole body will be full of light…” Sounds like Jesus wanted us to clear the clutter, too. He also told us to “lay not up for yourselves treasures on earth.” I think you’re on to something here! Thanks for writing.

  9. Gabrielle said

    Hi, Maria; thanks for visiting my blog. Your post is very timely, as I’ve been going through this “clean up” myself lately, and hope to continue through the winter, paring down, simplifying, letting go of some unnecessary obligations. When the heart wishes to focus on the Lord and prayer, I really think this orderliness is necessary, in order to free up our time and help us focus.

  10. jel said

    Hi Maria,

    thanks for stopping by,

    this is a very good post,

    blessings

  11. Vicki said

    Hi Maria! Great post, as I need to eliminate some distractions from my life as well. Thank you. Also, I’ve just added a new post. You must have visited while I was working on it:-)

    Blessings & hugs,
    Vicki

  12. samlee said

    I’m sorry Maria…
    Your detective skills have failed you.
    Check out my “About Sam” site.

    I think you are a little better at blogging than detective work. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Sam

  13. Mary said

    I’d just seen that on the news this morning about the Tsunami, praying!

    As for your post, good reminder of how easily and quickly clutter can overwhelm not just our kitchen countertops (in my case with 3 homeschooled daughter who love their crafts…)but our inner man…we are SOO busy being busy, aren’t we? Just a few minutes with God every day seems to stretch me twice as far…

    Blessings, nice to get to meet you! I’ve enjoyed reading through several of your entries!

  14. rdeemed70 said

    Amen!! I need this so badly… you have hit it on the nail… thanks!!!
    God bless you!!

  15. Owen said

    Just discovered your blog. Wish you had a RSS feed. I’ll just have to check in.

    ::thrive!
    Owen
    luminousmiseries.ca
    onionboy.ca

  16. Hey Maria – your thoughts in this post are very convicting. It’s very easy to become distracted.
    It reminds me of Martha in Luke 10, when Jesus visited Her, Mary and Lazarus.

    Have a great day…

  17. KJV said

    By putting God first in our life we will have order, because He is order. We must find time for God.

    Matthew 6:31-34
    31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?
    32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.
    33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.
    34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. God bless…GREAT site!

  18. misslionheart said

    Thanks for calling into my site. Seems we all need to be more organised!!

  19. Father Joe said

    Patterns or order and discipline can achieve much, both in our practical discipleship and in prayer. The Catholic breviary or Liturgy of the Hours breaks up the day into special times for prayer: Morning, Daytime Prayer, Evening Prayer, Compline or Night Prayer, and the Readings. Many also go to Mass daily and say a special devotion, like the rosary. Our lives are largely divided up between jobs and homelife. We might sometimes miss being spontaneous, but order makes sure that a lot gets accomplished.

  20. Dana said

    this is so true. I have been doing the same thing recently, I guess you could call it spring cleaning in the fall. lol

  21. I recently simplified my life a great deal and I am very grateful that I did. Order is also important to me because it enables me to stay simplified inside and not worried about what I need to do.

Leave a Reply

