Make a memory!

November 20, 2006

I was struck by a scene from a film i was watching with my little sister.  The girl in the film talked about ‘making a memory’: taking in the smells, the feel of the things around her, and the things she could see with her eyes in that moment, so she could recall it whenever she wanted to. 

Life doesn’t last forever and we don’t know whether what was in existence today will be here tomorrow – whether that’s a feeling of joy, a sunset, a building or a person.  The thing i took from all this is an age old saying: MAKE THE MOST OF EVERY MOMENT.  Each moment is a gift from God and there is something amazing in it even if it’s a moment of despair and anguish. 

There is something awe-inspiring about every second we live… let’s try to find the marvel of the moment and so live more fully!

19 Responses to “Make a memory!”

  1. jel said

    you said it! 🙂

    have a great day!

    blessings

  2. timglass said

    Life is so precious, we need to savor every moment!
    His blessings this day.

  3. Tomas said

    That’s so true. You reminded us the age old saying: MAKE THE MOST OF EVERY MOMENT. And I am glad to report my today’s story to you. – I am glad to shut not in myself but welcome the life. Hi, dare Maria

    The night has ended and the day came, but the sun didn’t appear yet. It was windy and rainy as well as it was dark and cold enough. But I didn’t fear the weather and bravely went outside and so reached the Art Gallery soon. Huge halls weren’t empty here; the art pictures were gazing at me from everywhere, and the famous canvases weren’t alone. The board of managers was also at work. All computers were turned on and lots of mysterious numbers were passionately dancing on the screens of the huge monitors. I stirred in awe and quietly sat down in a corner. The busy silence has pierced me. However, it couldn’t endure so for long and I was indeed released soon. One worker rose up his eyes from the papers and looked at me.
    “It is good that you are free, but that doesn’t mean you have the right to trouble us. We are in a hurry to go home”
    Thus I stood up and have embodied their dreams. Just as I returned home, this letter was started.

    So where is the moral?

    While quoting Carl Jung (Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves) I look like a wise man, but as I succeed to notice myself through the eyes of other, I become wise indeed, and my moralizations gifts plants of the gratitude for the precious gift of the communion of the faithful. That’s too good to test it in the solitude, therefore I am writing to you. THANKS.

  4. Wow Maria, I’ve never seen that movie, but I “make memories” all the time. Just the other day we had a spectacular sunset over the mountain, and I just stood on my balcony, mesmerized by all that glory for about 1/2 hour until the last pink hues gave way to dark grey.
    I have a post in my old blog about memories and what they have meant to me all my life. Feel free to have a look. http://beyondthehorizon-oltrelorizzonte.blogspot.com/2006/07/whipped-cream-cloud.html

    fmn

  5. dulcediana said

    I thank God I have moments to cherish and enjoy!

    Blessings,
    Diana

  6. autumnrose said

    Yes ~ grasp each moment…it will never come again!

  7. hayseed said

    Psalm 90:12 So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.

  8. Jessica said

    I am a firm believer that we always should live life to it’s fullest! 🙂

  9. My family and I have a lot of precious memories together. Just last night we were all in the master bedroom together reminiscing and laughing over songs we made up for the kids when they were little. I believe it’s especially important for our children to have happy memories of their childhood.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  10. Shirley said

    A memory is an opportunity to relive a moment…a precious gift that God has given us. I cherish wonderful memories and the chance to be again with my babies, my parents (now gone), even myself as a child. Neat. Thanks, Maria, for the post.

  11. Considering that there are on average 31,536,000 seconds per year, if the average person lives to be 75 years then he will have consumed 2,365,200,000 seconds in total give or take several million.

    Consider also that only He knows during which of these “seconds” He will choose to bring us home. Therefore let us use each second to give glory to Him from first to last!

    Jim

  12. misslionheart said

    Only this afternoon did I see an image I never want to forget. My 5 year old skipping down the school path to collect her two elder sisters….in the rain! So happy-go-lucky. While I was in the car snug and warm listening to classical music eating a sandwich!

  13. helenl said

    We used to have a group at church for preschoolers and their parents called Memory Ministry for this very purpose — to make memories.

  14. Steve said

    I am making memory’s in my heart with you Lord.

    Thanks Maria.

    God Bless.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  15. donna said

    yes i posted some memories of thanksgiving when i was a child. My father and brother both died, one two days before and one two days after thanksgiving, so i try to savor the more fond memories of the day…

  16. Great post Maria — In Ephesians 5 scripture talks of making the most of every opportunity. Your post reminds us to live each moment as though it’s the only one we have — and that’s something we really need to be reminded of.

  17. I love making precious memories. I am thankful for each one I have.
    Ronda

  18. I’m trying to do this for my children and hubby now. Right down to the good smells of home, too. Thank you for pointing this out. 😉

Leave a Reply

