The Divine Ink Eraser

November 21, 2006

Sitting in a radio studio is not something every person can relate to, so let me explain:  More often than not you will have a foam microphone at chewing height & an attractive set of clumpy headphones to decorate your ears, rather like the ear muffs worn in days gone by on cold winter days. 

With live radio there is no rewind button, so if a mistake is made it is made forever – you can try patch it up or dig yourself out of the hole, but the stain will have happened and listeners will remember it – so it cannot be got rid of! 

In life we can try put plasters on situations, to patch them up, but a plaster is a mere counterfeit of real skin and simply hides a wound.  BUT GOD ERADICATES OUR MISTAKES and CAN WIPE THE PAST CLEAN!  He’s outside of time so can go back to the moment of the stain, of that mistake made on live radio, and get rid of it.  

Praise God for the victory over sin and death as won for us on the cross.  All we have to do is ASK and the Divine Ink Eraser will wash our lives clean!

22 Responses to “The Divine Ink Eraser”

  1. timglass said

    Thanks be to God.
    His blessings this day.

  2. Nan said

    Lately I have noticed there are alot of famous people who have said things they regret. Since I accepted God into my life I am much better at not saying things I shouldn’t. Although once in awhile the *open mouth insert food* disease still rears it’s ugly head. I seem to have some control over the *open mouth change feet* sickness. Good post, Bless you

  3. Phil McAlmond said

    While I have only done a little radio, I clearly can relate to this post. The difficult thing with radio or TV is that you can not see the faces of those youare speaking to.

    It is much different from counseling, preaching or teaching in that sense. At least when there are people in front of you, you can hopefully catch their responses and ask yourself, oops, what did I say or do? For me, it is one thing to know that I blew it and it is a whole other thing to not know it and yet to have it effects just be out there.

    It is the whole verbal thing, once it leaves your lips, well, it is out there, even forever.

    Regardless, I am so very pleased not only in the Lord’s cleanses us from the effects of our sins but that he ceases to remember them, he doesn’t remind us of them or rub them in our faces, as it were.

    He indeed is awesome. Oh that we would all be a bit more like him in this. Ok, a whole lot more like him.

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!

  4. autumnrose said

    I can forget this fact..because the mistakes I make can linger on and still have consequences for me and others around me…so I tend to think God is the same. But then God doesn’t operate on the same system we do!

    But then why do we need purgatory if God has forgotten everything? Just one of those questions, I guess

  5. Praise God,

    It’s the same with the Internet, once you publish, then delete it, it is somehow caught up in cyberspace forever. Only with God are our sins erased as you nicely put it. Thank you for this beautiful post Maria.

    God love you.

  6. dulcediana said

    I am so thankful for that! Even more, He just doesn’t do it once; He is Faithful and repeatedly accepts us just as we come to HIM.
    Thank you Father!

    Love,
    Diana

  7. Mrs Blythe said

    I was reminded recently of something I read…I can’t remember where. It was of a dream, in the dream the dreamer found themselves in a room filled with filing cabinets and each drawer of the filing cabinets were full. Written on the paper filed away were all the dreamer’s sins. The dreamer desperately tried to rip out her shame and sinfulness but they were fastened in tight. Then Jesus came into the room, tears falling down His face and he opened each drawer and crossed out in His blood each sinful act; as He did this they vanished from the paper.

  8. Wow! He is the ever forgiving Father. When our eyes are clouded with tears of guilt and failure we can run to His waiting arms.He is ready to turn our weeping into tears of joy.

  9. Raymond said

    Re the purgatory thing – as far as I understand it, through Jesus Christ’s once-for-all sacrifice for our sins, God washes away our *guilt* forever – but the damage is still done, and we are not immediately perfect overnight. There is a still a journey towards perfection, which starts on earth, is continued in purgatory (if needed), and finishes in heaven. Those who are in purgatory are already guilt-free – forgiven – and absolutely 100% guaranteed to go to heaven – but not fully sanctified yet. I think???

  10. storbakken said

    We are blessed to have a merciful Savior. Praise and glory to His holy name! Hallelujah! I never read about purgatory in the Bible.

    Regarding purgatory, I don’t understand how He forgives us and then turns around and punishes us. It seems contrary to Christ’s nature. Regardless of interpretations, thank God we have the blood to wash us clean.

    God bless.

    http://www.morefire.wordpress.com

  11. myderbe said

    As far as the East is from the West . . the Bible says that’s how far God separates us from our sin. And, of course, that beautiful, comforting verse in James — If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. Somewhere else, God says He remembers our sins no more. Our Father chooses to forget because He sees Christ’s righteousness instead. Oh, how sweet!

    And if we are in Christ and He is in us, Paul tells us that when we’re absent from our bodies, we will be present with our Lord. 🙂 I look forward to that day when I am with Him and complete in Him.

  12. I hate the thought of not being able to erase my mistakes – I would not like to be on live radio! I am so grateful that God can wipe away our stains!!!

  13. Myderbe mentioned the Scriptures that came to my mind as I was reading your post. It is such a great blessing to know that when we come to Him in true repentance that He does forgive us. God goes one step further though than forgiving in that he also forgets our sins. God knows all things, but there is one thing that He chooses to forget and that is our confessed sins. What a blessing!

  14. Phil said

    WONderful thoughts, Maria,

    I for one am grateful God washes white as snow!! I don’t think I’ve anything to add to the comments that precede mine so I’ll come around to the other side of the table -OK microphone- for a second. Isn’t it just remarkable, beyond words almost, when after a live broadcast you happen to learn that something you said “impromptu” reached and blessed someone listening?! To think, to realize, those words may have been the verbalization of something the Spirit whispered in your ear, knowing someone listening needed to hear them at that very moment.

    “Live” IS incredible, especially when we’re under the Spirit’s control! So is Life!

    Bless you!
    Phil—

  15. AutumnRose said

    I ahve been thinking about the purgatory thing all day, and I don’t see it as ‘punishment’, rather as ‘preparation’, or sanctification.

    I get it if I think about the damage it does to us. It’s like if someone crashed into your car. You may forgive, even forget…but the car would still need fixing.

    Bad analogy, I know, but there you go! 🙂

  16. Anne said

    Thank you for visiting. I’m only able to post when my health permits. – Thank you for this uplifting post! Blessings.

  17. Coops said

    Hey Maria, this is like that sermon i heard on Sunday: A Dependable Priest. I hate to plug my own blog, but just listen to the sermon, it’s fantastic! http://coops.wordpress.com/2006/11/21/your-dependable-high-priest/

  18. Excellent application! Through the years I’ve had a turn or two at radio preaching and can relate to what you are talking about. Thanks be to God for the wonder working power of the blood of Christ!

    Blessings to you and yours,
    -bill
    http://spiritualoasis.wordpress.com

  19. Maria — what’s left to say? Your post is incredible! Our God is relentless in his love for us, and his desire to lead our lives closer to him.

  20. Celeste said

    Great post again. Thanks. What an encouragement to know that God is like this with us!!!

Leave a Reply

