I will not be moved!

November 22, 2006

Is your mood affected by the circumstances around you or by what’s going on in the lives of those you meet?  Mine is!

If those around me are in a good mood then i feel i can relax; if there is an issue i need to sort then i can lean towards a grumpy disposition.  It seems wrong that i change with the wind and lack stability. 

I think God intends us to be grounded on ‘the rock’ and not be moved by that which is around us, to not be knocked by the storms, but to remain in the truth that God has the victory and that i am loved by Him. 

At the same time as remaining unchangeable, i believe God intends us to relate to one another and share in the joys and sorrows those around us are experiencing.

It is our faith in Him that needs to remain steadfast and not be buffeted by circumstances.  Today i will try say to myself in all situations: ‘I will not be moved!’.  If someone shouts at me, then, ‘I will not be moved’…. i.e. not be moved to anger or retaliation, but i WILL be moved to love and patience and Christ like behaviour!

22 Responses to “I will not be moved!”

  1. Lorna said

    interesting :)Thanks for this

  2. Phil McAlmond said

    I envy your ability to say alot with few words.

    Have a joyous and happy Thankgiving!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!

  3. timglass said

    God is the same, whatever our circumstances are. We must remain faithful to Him, no matter what.
    His blessings this day.

  4. dulcediana said

    I may be shaken, but I will not be moved. In fact, He will allow for me to be shaken, so I will learn to stand firm.
    Thank you Jesus.
    Love,
    Diana

  5. I had just read a piece about maintaining an “attitude of gratitude.” Your post supports that nicely. Thanks.

  6. Joanne said

    Imagine life if ALL of us could remain steady on the Rock.

  7. Susanna said

    ‘How firm a foundation ye siants of the Lord
    Is laid for your faith in His excellent word
    What more can He say than to you He has said
    You who unto Jesus for refuge have fled’

    ‘We have an anchor that keeps the soul
    Steadfast and sure while the billows roll
    Founded on the rock that cannot move
    Grounded evermore in His gracious love’

  8. Scotty G said

    Not being swayed by our surroundings and moving toward God takes a conscience effort on our part.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    Good post

  9. Mat 7:24 Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock:
    Mat 7:25 And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.

  10. RobK said

    I like the juxtaposition of the two ideas. This is insightful – remaining grounded while remaining receptive.

  11. stuartdelony said

    I’m with you in this! I will not move (unless there’s a speeding car coming my way).

  12. Eilantha said

    I will be moved!

    God made us human and weak, why not admit our negative feelings? I am moved because some of the things that are going on around me touch something which is in me.

    The question is: how do I deal with my anger, retaliation etc? Do I let God touch my grumpy disposition?
    We should not make others suffer from our bad moods, but we are sometimes allowed to say what’s going on, we are allowed to BE.

    My rock ist not to be always in a good mood or to be always loving, or to be always cheerfull,
    my rock is God’s love and his mercy for me.
    Even our faith can be moved, that makes us human. We cannot neglect our humanity, we don’t have to be perfect in that way,
    the goal is to be ourselves before God and to live out of His love!

    Maria, I think your message is quite dangerous because noone of us will succeed in “not being moved”. It might be, that God wants someone to grow in that but I wouldn’t teach that we should not be moved by what’s going on around us.

    Our rock is His love.

    In Christ, Eilantha

  13. Maria said

    Thank you everyone for your reflections.

    Eilantha, you suggest that my post is ‘dangerous’ – i certainly did not intend it to be! I usually write from experience (not least because one can write on little else other than that which has been experienced or which God has given us revelation on!). For me i have found it helpful in situations where i may be moved to anger to step back and choose not to get fired up but to respond in peace… However i qualified this by saying that sometimes we are required to be moved, but only to be moved in Love, not revenge or any other such thing -just as Paul said he became all things to all people i.e. we should be moved with compassion.

    I apologise for any offence caused. Every blessing to you this day
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  14. samlee said

    No offense Maria,

    I don’t think your message was dangerous at all.
    Keep on reflecting.

    Sam

  15. Maria — I really appreciate your post, and the spirit in which you share what’s on your heart each day.
    Your post today is a great reminder to me of how God will help me rise above the mundane, yet he still keeps me aware and soft hearted enough that he can use me to help and encourage others who may be right in the middle of great struggles.
    Hope that makes sense…

    In Him,
    Jamie

  16. Steve said

    keep up the good works.

    In Him.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  17. Keith M. said

    I agree totally! That is a really good post! We should be like clay, when God is talking we should be soft and ready to be molded. When the heat of trials come we should harden in the way God has formed us.

  18. Eilantha said

    Maria, I guess I was a bit offended when reading your post. I’m sorry for having called your message “dangerous”.
    The whole topic touches something I really suffered under. I tried for a long time to be a “good christian” but finally wasn’t myself and didn’t allow myself to have negative feelings. That led me to a point where I didn’t even call me a christian any more because I had misunderstood what christianity is about (first of all about being a child of God). It’s my own brokeness I begin to fully understand but there’s a long way before me to accept that brokeness and to let God heal it.
    Thanks for having answered my post. Please pray for me.
    Eilantha

  19. For me, this is one of your best posts to date, and you’ve had some doozies.

  20. Maria said

    Gosh, i have to say i never anticipated that what i thought was a simple reflection would stir up so much.

    God be with you all this day.
    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

    p.s. I don’t know what a ‘doozy’ is!

  21. a ‘doozy’ is the same as ‘extraordinary’ or ‘special’.

  22. diana said

    I agree this is one of your best posts, Maria. Your style of short but easy messages is growing on me. I don’t always agree with what you say, but this post has built me up today. Thank you sister!

    Love,
    Diana

Leave a Reply

