Kindness without a cause

November 30, 2006

Kindness without a cause is worth nothing… or is it?

This morning a helpful gentleman give me a coin when the car park machine failed to accept my pound. I don’t know whether he was a Christian but due to the musing that followed in my mind i’d now like to know his faith status!

We’re told in scripture that we may be put to death for our faith, but if we don’t have love it warrants nothing.  It’s the same the other way round – if we sacrifice ourselves out of kindness but have no faith then we’re left asking – ‘What is it worth?’.  Is it nothing more than making one or more people feel good, and is that in itself an intrinsically wrong motive?

Good deeds alone don’t grant us the gift of having our sin forgotten and washed away, and it’s not the ticket to eternal life… the good deeds need to be done out of love and in faith.

I’ll be wary next time i go the the ticket machine at the station car park – who knows what theological musings it may stir up! 😉

p.s. Up tomorrow ‘Humble pie with blueberries in’!  Then at the weekend i’m thinking of having online confession time!  Mmm…

22 Responses to “Kindness without a cause”

  1. Lorna said

    not because of what I’ve done, but because of what HE’s done for me

    Amen

  2. misslionheart said

    Lorna, I tried to post a comment on your blog, but my maths wasn’t good enough?!!

    Have a good day everyone

  3. diana said

    Even in my limited experience I’ve noticed that sometimes good deeds done without any purpose can draw you closer to God. In this gentleman’s case, if he wasn’t already christian, he might have felt a little “good work!” pat in his heart, and felt God through it. I felt God in a moment like that once just before I became christian, and that moment was actually a huge contributing cause that inspired me to read the Bible!

    So you’re absolutely right, eternal life isn’t won by good deeds- but love brings us closer to God 🙂 God is the author of love and the Bible says God IS love! So the next time you go to the ticket machine, and the same gentleman is there to bail you out again, remember to strike up conversation with him, you might be the woman to bring him to Christ 🙂

    It’s a blessing to read when people direct their thought processes towards God and the Bible, at random times and moments in their life. Thanks for this post 🙂

    Love,
    Diana

  4. celeste said

    “We’re told in scripture that we may be put to death for our faith, but if we don’t have love it warrants nothing. ”

    It’s funny how you would mention this today…because yesterday I started thinking about this very thing. I came to a point where I questioned the reasons for doing the things I do…and I came to the conclusion that I have been doing so many things on my own strength, and without love. Good things to help others, but I really had to stop and think and question my motives.

    Thanks!

  5. timglass said

    We hear so much about “mean” people, it’s refreshing to hear about “nice” people. Whether that man was a Christian or not, it sounds like God used him to cause you to reflect on God’s goodness and in turn, caused us all to reflect on it as well.
    Thanks, Maria. His blessings this day.

  6. AutumnRose said

    I know for me if I try to see everyone as ‘Christ-in-disguise’, as Mother Teresa used to say, then it alters the way I treat people! 🙂 (for the better of course!)

  7. anna said

    hello! thank you for your comment. 🙂

    greetings from SINGAPORE!

    lots of love.

  8. storbakken said

    who knows, maybe he was an angel sent to make sure you got on the train. I know that’s off the point, but I just wanted to throw it in. Have a good day!

  9. Jim Richardson said

    Amen, sister!

    Thank you for your faithful, daily posting!

    Jim (USA)

    http://thywordistruth.wordpress.com/

  10. Concerning storbakken’s comment, my mom shared a story with me that happened before she was a Christian. She was walking down a street in Chicago, and a man whom she didn’t know, handed her a bouquet of flowers. She thanked him, and the man went on his way. She turned around a few seconds later to get one last look at this mysterious man, and he was gone. Was he an angel? I don’t know, but I do know that this happened at a very low time in her life.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  11. myderbe said

    Good thoughts everyone. Maria, you are so right — the good deeds don’t wash away our sins; only Christ can do that. But I agree with the idea that good deeds can stir up something in people and draw them closer to God.

    Also a good reminder to do our good deeds with the right motive and in the Right Power.

  12. Tom said

    Maria:

    Very good post! (By the way, sorry for not visiting your site so often.) I’m still a bit new to blogging, but I’m getting better.

    I presently know some whom I’m wondering–what exactly is their faith–just by things they said and by ther demeanor. I pray I can live in such a way that I could influence others and provoke others to love and good works.

    One other thought. I’ve heard it said: The secret to praying is praying in secret. What you are in your PRAYER CLOSET will reflect what you become outwardly. God Bless!

  13. Diana said

    Blessings Maria. Thanks for your thoughts.
    Very good point that Believers and Non-Believers need to think about.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  14. Thanks Maria,

    Those who trust Jesus Christ alone for their Salvation SHOULD do good works — but good works are absolutely not required to secure or help our salvation in any way. Ephesians 2:8-10
    That is the beauty of God’s Grace. The FREE gift of sternal life. Free and His Gift by our decision by faith.

    ExP(Jack)

  15. Roo said

    Not by faith alone and not by works alone but by the grace of God alone are we saved. But how do we manifest this grace? How do you show the world that you are saved? By faith AND works.

    The man in the church pew gains nothing from saying ‘Lord, Lord’ unless he’s willing to put his money where his mouth is (figuratively speaking).

    Works are the manifestation of faith which is the manifestation of grace. Or, in shorthand, Grace leads to faith and faith leads to works. Any person in the world, regardless of religion, can suddenly and inexplicably be moved to a moment of pure faith and then great work.

    We had an example of this last night at Penn State. Last month a student was hit by a drunk driver. He is still in critical condition today. Through a beautiful moment of grace one of his fraternity sisters saw a chance to raise money for him and awareness of drunk driving with a simple spaghetti dinner fund raiser. She raised more than money and awareness last night. Here is the work that shows she has the faith that proves she was under the influence of grace.

    Great post, Maria!

    In Christ,
    Roo

  16. Sis. Julie said

    What a blessing to meet a kind person out in the world. It’s hard to find one so giving as that these days. So many people are busy going about their daily lives that they don’t take opportunity to be a blessing to someone. Sounds like you came across someone who wanted to be and was a blessing to you!!

  17. I love that you see God moving and teaching you even in the small actions of another person. It’s easy to forget, but so powerful when you remember He is working all around you everywhere you go. God bless you.

  18. tommyjoe said

    I’m not sure I believe in FAITH ALONE. Doesn’t James talk about faith AND works? Our faith is made PERFECT by our works. It’s not OUR OWN works that save us, but rather our OBEDIENCE to Christ and the gospel. Peter said, “REPENT and BE BAPTIZED EVERY ONE OF YOU . . .” I think those are both NECESSARY for salvation. They’re not our own works, but STEPS OF OBEDIENCE to Christ’s works! Then HE pours out the Holy Ghost as confirmation of our obedience. The Holy Ghost is a gift HE freely gives IN RESPONSE TO our obedience. I don’t feel I could do without REPENTANCE or BAPTISM IN JESUS NAME (like the apostles did). Unless we’re born of WATER and OF THE SPIRIT, we can’t even ENTER THE KINGDOM. No works’ll cause us to “get in.”

  19. arabianfox said

    I think every person will have some good aspect because he/she was created by God.

  20. Antibush said

    Bush and the Republicans were not protecting us on 9-11, and we aren’t a lot safer now. We may be more afraid due to george bush, but are we safer? Being fearful does not necessarily make one safer. Fear can cause people to hide and cower. What do you think? What is he doing to us, and what is he doing to the world?
    What happened to us, people? When did we become such lemmings?
    We have lost friends and influenced no one. No wonder most of the world thinks we suck. Thanks to what george bush has done to our country during the past three years, we do!

  21. Micky said

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

Leave a Reply

