Confession 2

December 4, 2006

Sigh.  I flopped down on my bed in a state of exhaustion, determined not to allow tiredness to prevent me having a decent prayertime.  After about 15mins of resting in God i opened the Bible… i was flicking to be more precise, looking for something i wanted to read in Deuteronomy.

As i was working my way through the last book of the Pentateuch my eyes fell on the heading of one section ‘The First Fruits’.  I knew from previous study that this referred to tithing, giving back to God part of the blessing He’d bestowed as an offering of thanksgiving, and also in today’s culture, as an exercise in detachment.

In my sleepy state i felt frozen to the spot and totally convicted.  Revelation came to me: “I’ve been hoarding!”.  How much money had i given to the poor of late?  None.  How much to charity?  Not much.  How much to church?  Less than i could’ve done.  I felt ashamed, disappointed at my state.

As i pondered this matter i realised the block this was in my relationship with God and therefore how it may be blocking God’s blessings flowing in my relationships with family and friends. 

Have mercy, Lord.  Thank you for your forgiveness.

16 Responses to “Confession 2”

  1. autumnrose said

    Thank you for this timely reminder ~ especially at this time of year when it’s so easy to focus on ‘spend, spend, spend!’

    Have a great day today 🙂

  2. misslionheart said

    I always give the small change to charity on each shopping trip. There is often an ISPCC box or Barnardos on a shop counter.

  3. timglass said

    Yes indeed! Thank you Lord, for Your forgiveness!
    His blessings this day.

  4. Praise God! I believe it this only the beginning of a fruitful relationship with HIM. He is no debtor and He will blesses you if you are failtful.

  5. dulcediana said

    A generous pocket must come with a grateful and joyous heart. I pray God blesses us with both.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  6. Jessica said

    We all need to be generous in giving as much as possible huh?

    Thanks for this reminder!

  7. God wants our first fruits, and he deserves them – I personally need to honor God more with this, and in all I do. Thanks for the reminder and a very convicting post Maria.

  8. storbakken said

    Glad that He is working through His Word so wonderfully in your life.

  9. I always love reading what you post!
    Thanks!!

  10. Maria,

    I can’t recall the scripture verse at the moment, but proper tithing is the one area of our lives where the Lord invites us to “test” Him to see if He will not open the floodgates of heavan!

    I have learned from personal experience that the more I give, the more He gives abundantly in return.

    He is simply amazing!

    Jim

  11. RobK said

    Generosity is one where I am constantly asking if I am doing enough, and no matter what I am doing I find the answer is always “no.” I can always do more – I think that is the challenge of Christ. Until we give all of ourselves (as Christ showed us), there is always more to give.

  12. tommyjoe said

    Jim:

    Is the verse you’re referring to this one?:

    Malachi 3:10, Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.

  13. That’s all I’m hearing these days-first fruits! Hmmmn! Wonder if God is trying to get a message across to His people! Thanks Maria!

  14. Jayleigh said

    God is so awesome and always faithful.

    Blessings to you Maria.

  15. Bill said

    Convicting thoughts, Maria!!

    I just wanted to let you know that I’ve added a link to your blog on the blogroll at The Spiritual Oasis. This is a new web site that I will, the Lord willing, be unveiling in a low key manner over the next few weeks. If you have other blogs that you would recommed, please let me know.

    Blessings to you and yours,
    -bill

  16. Thank God for His convicting power! Blessings to you this day in the U.K.

    Carol

Leave a Reply

