Prayer as medicine!

December 5, 2006

After a time of illness (whether a virus, bug or whatever technical term you wish to describe it as) i find my body is weaker and therefore more susceptable to contracting other forms of ill health.

Recently i was off work for a few days with some sort of virus, and now one week later i’m back down with something again – this time a temperature and something affecting my sinuses.  I rushed back to work, got back into my normal routine, and failed to acknowledge a need to ‘go slow’ and take good care of myself. 

As is so easy, i tried to be superwoman and return to normal life straight after spending a few days in bed… and the consequence was, i got run down.  I failed to build myself up slowly, and realise that my body needed to be restored.

This principle of building up, i realised, is the same in my spiritual life – when i’m not praying as much and not looking after my spiritual life then i am more vulnerable to attack, more susceptable to temptation and a fall.

In a way we should see prayer as medicine: that which restores us, puts us back on the right track, then protects us, and enables us to be more alive, healthy and fruitful!

We pray ‘give us our daily bread’!

13 Responses to “Prayer as medicine!”

  1. timglass said

    I’m sorry you’re feeling bad again. Take it easy this time, will ya! 🙂
    I agree that prayer is our life-line to God, for spiritual health and direction.
    His blessings this day.

  2. Coops said

    James 5:14-15: “Is any among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord: and the prayer of faith shall save him that is sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, it shall be forgiven him.” 🙂

  3. Keith M. said

    Yeah, I agree. I think that a lot of people don’t realize how powerful prayer is in a believers life. I have learned that is my main communication with God. Just tell him your problems, don’t always go to men. God knows. But you must ask. =D

  4. dulcediana said

    I also find it difficult to ‘build myself slowly’ after sickness. I’m always in such a rush to get everything that is demanded of me accomplished. A few months ago I also got ‘something’ and this time around I sort of enjoyed the recuperation.
    My mind was at ease because I knew my body needed time to release and restore.
    It’s the system God created in us! We are fearfully and wonderfully made!

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  5. Lisa said

    Great thoughts, Maria!

  6. Chris D said

    Hope you are feeling better soon. Get some rest and take a nap.

    Love, Chris

    ps Thank you for your thoughts!

  7. tommyjoe said

    Prayer is ALWAYS powerful. AND, a merry heart doeth good LIKE A MEDICINE! God Bless!

  8. donna said

    Thee most powerful remedy…Thank you Maria
    Praying you are feeling restored

    donna

  9. Steve said

    Thanks for the Thoughts Praying for you Maria.

    Steve

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  10. helenl said

    Hi Maria, Sorry to hear you’re feeling bad. I like your analogy.

  11. Bill said

    This is such a practical and insightful post, Maria. Great job!! Hope you are able to be back at full strength soon.

    Grace and peace to you and yours,
    -bill

  12. jarvis said

    Your last sentence puts it all into perspective 🙂

  13. Thanks Maria — Prayer is amazing medicine! How could it not be — you’re visiting with the Great Physician!

Leave a Reply

