Dreams revisited!

December 7, 2006

Clearing up files on my computer was the order of the day, but i was surprised at some of the things i found.

Two years ago i penned some ideas for the youth in our parish; one year ago i wrote down reflections on church structures… Had i really had those ideas that long ago?  Just this week i had been thinking some similar thoughts! 

Of late i’ve been surprised at how the things i feel passionately about have remained the same as the years roll by… the question is, have i allowed God to bring the dreams into reality?

When i have an idea or feel God stirring something in me, my policy is to WRITE IT DOWN so it can be revisited.  (Not least because with so many things happening in my life i will forget the ins and outs of what i thought… especially if a few years roll by!)

Without vision and dreams we perish and die, but what are the dreams for? 

God plants desires in us so that we can help Him advance the kingdom on earth in a particular way.  Following a dream is not always easy – others may ridicule you, and you may not be supported.  Think of Joseph and his technicolour (of late!) coat and how his family rejected him.

What are your dreams with God?  Are you afraid of them or of how others will respond?  Do you dismiss your dreams as whimsical and something that will never come about?

Have faith dreamer, your dreams have been given you for a reason, but for their fulfilment you will have to step out…. step out into the unknown. 

When Noah heard the call to build an ark it seemed foolish.  We too can have a vision of something we can do to bring God to the world… it may seem foolish, but are you willing to be a FOOL FOR CHRIST or will you get to the gates of heaven and try to give account of why you were too afraid?

God loves you and knows that following your dreams will put you on the best most perfect path for you.  With the Holy Spirit for companionship nothing can harm you. 

GOD CAN DO MORE IN YOU IF YOU’LL LET HIM!  DARE TO DREAM!

13 Responses to “Dreams revisited!”

  1. timglass said

    Amen, Maria. Our dreams and talents are gifts from God, and we should use them to bring Him glory, honor and praise.
    His blessings this day.

  2. dulcediana said

    Great food for thought.
    We all can use an inventory check on this.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  3. Shirley said

    Joseph’s brothers mocked him, calling him “a dreamer.” But it was the “dreamer” who saved his entire family from starvation.

    Dream on, Maria.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  4. Thanks for dropping by the blog of a person on the other side of the world.

    Always a blessing to find people of faith.

    Please stop by again. And thank you for doing a fine blog.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  5. helenl said

    Beautiful post, Maria. Too many of us fail to nurture our religious imaginations. We know there is ridicule for the dreamer. Look at Martin Luther King Jr. whose dream of equality has been neutered and is slipping away into political correctness. Let us dare to step out and follow our dreams, though the laughter will come and resistence follow us, maybe even to our deaths as martyr like King. Dreams are not always to be fulfilled quickly. Sometimes it takes generations of faithfulness. We must undergird our dreams with our faithful actions.

  6. Thanks Maria. That’s all I can say is Thanks. If you knew what I was facing right now you would know why. So….Thanks!

  7. Maria,

    I find goals much more successfully achieved by mapping out incremental steps that I’m accountable to……that and Post-it notes!!!

    Blessings,
    Jim Richardson

  8. Great post, Maria! God gave my husband and I a dream a few years ago to start a church in the city in which we are now living. Sometimes it seems like things are happening at a snail’s pace, but I have to remind myself that it takes time to build a church.(I’m speaking of people here)

    Blessings to you,

    Carol

  9. I love Paul’s words in Ephesians 3:20-21.

    Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

    Thanks and God bless

  10. Phil said

    Hi Maria,

    This is truly thought-provoking!

    I wonder what the difference is between

    dreaming a dream and following through because one believes the dream is of God

    and

    obediently following the Lord’s leading?

    For example: Abraham didn’t have a dream to be the father of nations so much as he obeyed.
    The Apostle Paul’s dream wasn’t originally to open up Macedonia.

    I’m not opposed to dreams and high aspirations, but I do wonder sometimes if we’d be better off obeying what we DO know and wondering less if what we’re dreaming is of Him. John the Baptist said He must increase but I must decrease. It’s hard for me to think like that when I have this really awesome dream God “just has to initial” 😉

    Thoughts anyone?

    Phil—

  11. hey Maria,
    this was pretty good…“Habakkuk 2:2 And the LORD answered me, and said, Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it. I too share your sentiment of writing down our dreams, I have found that writing them down allows me to see clearly what my next step is and also gives me something to look toward when all of the challenges and obstacles of the world try to distract me…keep up the good work….

    -one-

  12. Bill said

    Maria,

    As I read this post several passages came to mind. Ephesians 3:20-21 was one of them. It is referenced above. Also, Psalm 37 came to mind, especially vs. 3-6…

    3 Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

    4 Take delight in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.

    5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him and he will do this:

    6 He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn, your vindication like the noonday sun.

    My life is always blessed by a visit to your blog. I praise God for gifting you with such pure insight and thank you for taking the time to write things down.

    Grace and peace to you,
    -bill

  13. Eric said

    I took me a long time and hard lessons, but I finally learned to respond to God when he called me. When someone shares a need with me and asks me to pray for them, I know I should do it then, while they are with me, or I will find myself making up excuses later. If I find someone in a difficult or hopeless situation, it is better to share Jesus who is my hope and faith with them, than to wait until a better time or until I have words to say: it will never happen. I have been afraid of what others will say or do or think, but God used allowed me to suffer so that I would find the courage in Him to serve His calling when he calls. I have never been more happy than when I listen to God. My dreams are coming true!

Leave a Reply

