Share the crushed mountains!!

December 11, 2006

Arriving at work i had numerous mountains to overcome and no skiis with which to do it! 

A crashing yet vital computer system without which the day could not happen, 3 children who were in to try their hand at and learn from & observe me doing my job, and i’d just returned after a week of ill health to a pile of memos from colleagues. 

In the midst of all this i remained remarkably calm and recalled the disciples with Jesus in the boat in a raging storm.  All it took was one word from Jesus and everything went quiet for them.

I was reminded also of how a prayer with faith can throw a mountain into the sea, so i sought to activate that faith and asked others around me to do the same.  After a short period the crashing system was sorted and things went very smoothly from then on.

What did i learn? a) pray about everything; b) tell others about answered prayers however small or big they may seem because they will act as an encouragement to someone this day! 

17 Responses to “Share the crushed mountains!!”

  1. I’ll try to remember that when I get to work today.

  2. Johnny said

    All that, AND having to put up with John Pantry!! :-))))

  3. autumnrose said

    I find that I’m getting so tired at the end of a hard term, every new Monday morning is a bigger mountain than the last! I’ve got to the point of feeling my heart sink as my diary gets fuller and fuller…

    Thanks for this remonder that for God, nothing is impossible. Even tiredness, a full diary, Christmas stress and the smell of chocolates form a big tin of Roses in our office when I’m on a diet!

    I find your blog to be the best daily devotions on the net, Maria! I can’t stress enough how much you’ve blessed me over the last few weeks 🙂 xx

  4. dulcediana said

    There a song that came to mind, particularly these lines:

    “Sometimes He calms the storm
    And other times He calms His child”

    Either way we can trust He is in control.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  5. Tomas said

    Thank you.
    At times fellow believer’s example is the answer to our prayers. Your post miraculously released me from strange tension that threaten to swallow down me currently.

  6. timglass said

    Great reminder Maria.
    His blessings this day.

  7. helenl said

    Hi Maria, Great post. God does answer our prayers–all of them.

  8. Keith M. said

    I agree, I have been thinking about prayer A LOT. I believe that it is our interstate to God, prayer is the lane going to Him, the Bible is the lane coming to us.

  9. Maria,

    Charles Stanley preached on this very verse this past Sunday!

    God bless,

    Jim

  10. Peter said

    Sometimes computers require much faith and patience, I should know 😉

  11. Lisa said

    That’s a great reminder for us all. No one is immune problems and stress. We all need to let go and let God take over.

  12. storbakken said

    Thanks Maria. Nice post. Prayer is powerful!

  13. Sis. Julie said

    Amen!! It is so important to pray about everything. The best thing to do in fact when things are going nuts around you is to take a break right then and call on the God of Heaven to calm those storm winds for you. What power there is in prayer!!

  14. Brian Alexander said

    thanks for the birthday wishes. I hope you have a great week.

    -Brian

  15. Jessica said

    Prayer works wonders! 🙂

  16. hudds53 said

    Wonderfully refeshing post. Prayer works, I used it so often in my working life and do even more so now. It was uplifting the way you worded it.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

