Don’t spit at me!!

December 12, 2006

The gentleman of a recent post (‘Kindness without a cause’) appeared again this morning.  The beauty of this encounter was that roles were reversed – this time i was the one offering him coins for the slot machine because his weren’t working.

After numerous tries the machine for the car parking tickets persisted in spitting out our coins, refusing to accept any of them.  This led me to think about God again.  He has a choice whether to accept each of us or to spit us out in disgust.

In the words of the criminal on the cross next to Jesus: Lord, remember me when you come into Your Kingdom.

14 Responses to “Don’t spit at me!!”

  1. Oh yes! What a horrifying thought – to be spit out from our Lord!!!

  2. timglass said

    Rev. 3:16
    His blessings this day.

  3. dulcediana said

    Haha… timglass, I was just thinking that!

    Absolutely God has a choice! And he chose not to. He chose to go find the missing sheep and bring them home. Our God is merciful!

    Love,
    DulceDiana

    PS: Maria, thanks for your comment!

  4. helenl said

    Hi Maria, Have a good day.

  5. Maria said

    hi, nice of you to leave a comment in my blog, thought i’d do the same. where in the uk do u live?

  6. Maria said

    Getting a bit confusing with two Maria’s around. Am south of the UK below London.

    God bless you
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  7. It is that moment we, like the thief on the cross, recognise that we deserve condemnation it is at that point that we are forgiven, accepted and enter into His Kingdom; something we do not deserve.

    The spit out part really reminds me of Revelation 3:15-17
    I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.

  8. I’m thankful to still be living in the day where God is extending mercy to those who come to Him in repentance!

  9. Phil McAlmond said

    Makes me think of the passage in Revelations:

    Revelation 3:15-16 (ESV) ” ‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.

    Oh to be hot, so burning hot, in Christ Jesus!

    Blessings in Christ Jesus!

  10. autumnrose said

    Oh wow ~ I wrote about that part of Revelations 3 today! God-incidence?

  11. Claire said

    yeah, jesus does warn us that on teh day of the Lord that there will be those who did miracles and such who expected to be in the Kingdom but whom God says, be gone, I never knew you. Kinda scary eh. But at the same time i believe it is possible to be assured of your position of security in teh family… by the blood and grace of Jesus i know i am saved, a child of God, accepted and beloved. and i thank my gracious father for such a gift….

  12. Tony said

    Pray for me. This is a constant fear of mine because I sin so often. I can’t seem to get out of the funk or find the power to make life changes.

    Tony

  13. myderbe said

    Oh, I am so thankful that none of it depends on ME and how good I am or how well I obey. God will not spit me out of His mouth, and I know this with full assurance because I do not come to Him in and of myself. I come to Him humbly, covered by His very own Son. I am IN CHRIST, and because my Father sees Christ and not me, He accepts me and wraps me up in His robes and throws a party for me. 🙂

    Tony, be sure you are in Christ, and you need not worry about being accepted by Father.

Leave a Reply

