I can’t do it on my own!

December 19, 2006

Every day we can have encounters with other people.  These encounters are moments of risk because every time we interact with another we don’t know whether we will get hurt by it… after all we are all sinful beings with wounds which can result in confrontation and defensiveness.  It is wrong for us to step out of the world and shut off from relationships with others, yet we need to acknowledge that without God ‘WE CAN’T DO IT’!  We need to turn to God for the strength to be to others a blessing rather than a burden.

Human beings fail us.  They hurt us.  They damage us.

God never fails us.  God never hurts us.  God restores us.

Human beings are made in God’s image and therefore point us to God.  Let God shines through your brokeness today.

14 Responses to “I can’t do it on my own!”

  1. Autumnrose said

    Once again Maria, you hit the spot for me! 😀

  2. timglass said

    A+ Maria!
    His blessings this day.

  3. dulcediana said

    Simple truth. But even coming out a shell hurts, let alone interact. Yes, we need God’s strength so He can be glorified in our weakness!

    Thank you.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  4. Renee said

    This is true! It is suprising how these things can sneak up on you, and then need healing. Come, Holy Spirit!

  5. Emily said

    Oh how I needed to hear that today…. Thanks Maria and God bless you 🙂

    Emilu

  6. Aaron said

    I once had a pastor tell me that people can be our greatest joy and our biggest disappoinment. We all fall short. More then likely when we fail, we let someone else down. Praise God there is one who never fails. Just give me Jesus..

  7. helenl said

    Thanks Maria. I love you.

  8. same said

    Thanks Maria – reminds me of Hebrews: “God will never leave you nor forsake you”

  9. Talbot said

    It is true that we are often hurt by other human beings. It is also true that we can always trust in God.
    Yet, quite often, when God blesses and helps us it is through the willing service of other human beings.

    For I was an ahungred, and ye bgave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a cstranger, and ye took me in:

    Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye avisited me: I was in bprison, and ye came unto me.

    Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

    When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

    Or when saw we thee asick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

    And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have adone it unto one of the bleast of these my cbrethren, ye have done it unto me.

  10. Susanna said

    Hello

    I am on the edge of Barnstaple…..does that help?
    🙂
    Susanna

  11. We have to become vulnerable! Thanks maria.

  12. Honora said

    There are times when I let God show through my brokenness not at all, but… maybe tomorrow.

    God bless. I hope all here had a sweet Christmas day.

Leave a Reply

