Unbelief

December 21, 2006

We don’t pray because we don’t believe!

I can make excuses on the days i don’t pray as much as i should.  I can say ‘i don’t have time’, or ‘i’m too ill’, or ‘i prayed lots yesterday’!  My excuses are simply that, excuses.

If i truly believed in the power of prayer then i would pray. 

I pray to the extent to which i believe my prayers have the authority to transform situations.  If i had supernatural faith then i would want to enter into God’s presence with the eagerness i have when i am due to meet with a good friend whom i love to spend time with.

God give us revelation this day of the priority prayer should take in our lives, and indeed its power.

16 Responses to “Unbelief”

  1. Praise God and amen! it is powerful in the last statement “God give us revelation this day of the priority should take inour lives, and indeed its power.”

  2. timglass said

    1 Thes. 5:17, “pray continually”.
    His blessings this day.

  3. misslionheart said

    I prayed for a friend today, she gets her breast cancer results soon. That was the only time I’ve prayed since my Mum died of ovarian cancer 4 years ago…

  4. dulcediana said

    Ditto on the post and longsuffering’s comment.

    This morning I was meditating on how much authority we really have. After God, we are it! Not angels (fallen or not), not animals, nor any other living thing or non-living thing!
    Romans 8:31 says “…If God is for us, who can be against us?”
    Let’s take that authority and intercede for those God puts in our path…

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  5. Hebrews 4.16:
    Let us therefore approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

    I think we can say more about this unbelief. Since the goal of prayer is the unity of ourselves with God. (I don’t need to qualify this since many saints, the prayer of Jesus in John 17 and the writings of the church explain this) The nature of our unbelief is principally that we don’t believe we can experience a unity with God. It is really a fear of rejection or an unbelief in the existence of God! I really think that an unbelief in the fulness of God’s power is an issue we face later.

    What help do we have for this predicament?
    We can be confident that God is real! We can also be sure that he will recieve us!

    How?
    Well there are about a million theological essays and arguments but none of these ultimately will substitute prayer. I have seen so many people who had the courage to pray even though they had these feelings come to a real joy as they see there prayers answered.

    I think the key is to start small. I may not believe that God will make Elvis come down in a flying saucer and land on the Loch Ness Monsters head! But perhaps I can manage to believe he will help feel peaceful, find me a parking space or inspire my two year old to eat more than peas with honey!

    But really there is no intimacy in doing. 9 out of 10 lepers healed by Jesus didn’t come back and say thanks! Deep down what we need is to take some time of quiet to say to God. Here I am I’d like to spend some time with you! Then we need to keep doing that until we have stopped making it a project, stopped testing God with it, stopped trying to prove anything (you name it) and actually wait for God.

    If we are afraid of rejection then it may be harder but we need to look at the scriptures and realise that God will not reject us but like the father of the prodigal son is already half way down the road by the time we even thought of coming back!

    Hebrews 7.25:
    Consequently he is able for all time to save* those who approach God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.
    *or completely save

    True Prayer
    It is there in the emptiness of our hearts when we have turned to God seeking intimacy that we can and will, truly pray.

    John 17:21
    “As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us”

  6. donna said

    Blessings to you Maria

    donna

  7. Lorna said

    mission heart – keep praying

    Maria this is a wonderful post. It’s encouraging. It’s ok to pick up wherever we are – though the Bible says there’s merit in praying unceasingly.

    We don’t have (answers) because we don’t ask (in prayer)… that’s a fact. Sad isn’t it?

  8. The Bible tells us to “pray without ceasing,” which means, of course, to be in such a close relationship with God that the Spirit prays while we sleep. This kind of realtionship is possible only through submission and through frequent prayer. May we all remeber to pray often.

  9. Great post, Maria. May God give all of us more grace to press past the hindrances and spend more time in His presence.

  10. stuartdelony said

    u need to write a book of daily devotions… seriously.

  11. storbakken said

    I have found that prayer increases my faith.

  12. When we think we have nothing about which to pray, think simply on this.

    Thank the God of the universe for loving an unworthy sinner like me, for dying on the cross for me, going to the grave and rising alive, all for me.. So that by trusting in Jesus alone, I will have, guaranteed, Eternal Life in Heaven with Him!.

    ExP(Jack)

  13. Sis. Julie said

    There is definitely power in prayer. If people truly believed in that power they would pray more. I know I don’t pray as much or like I should…but I sure do know the power that prayer has. God honors prayer done with a sincere heart!! Thank you for this post!!

  14. so true! I love your insights Maria – they are always so profound.

  15. Eva Kolej said

    How True. We take for granted the “Power of Prayer” that we have. I have seen miracles happen through prayer, small and large. It is amazing what happens when we truly believe.

    God Bless Maria and may you have a truly Blessed Christmas!

  16. Maria Toth said

    Well on 21st December, the day of writing this post, i hit number 48 of WordPress’s Growing Blogs – all glory to God that Christian blogs are being recognised.
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

Leave a Reply

