Out of control -dangerous prayers!

December 22, 2006

I’ve had a few occasions lately where i’ve been out of control.  Not in the sense of going crazy and being wild, but rather of feeling like i can’t do anything and am not in control.

Sitting at my desk burning up with a temperature (yet again!) i felt kinda helpless the other day, and fed up.  I’d taken vitamins, eaten fruit, rested and yet was ill again! 

In the moments where i realise there is nothing i can do myself i am able to surrender to God’s supreme power more fully, reminding me that God’s power is made perfect in my weakness.

Dare i say to God, let me know my weakness so your strength may be seen at full stretch, or is that a dangerous prayer to pray?!

14 Responses to “Out of control -dangerous prayers!”

  1. timglass said

    Hang in there Maria! Keep praying those dangerous prayers! He must increase, I must decrease.
    His blessings this day.

  2. dulcediana said

    God is in control, he is Faithful. I’m praying for you my sis.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  3. Maria said

    I wasn’t trying to get sympathy… i was simply sharing a truth about God on the back of my frustrations! Thanks for your kind thoughts though, everyone!

    God bless you all
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  4. Lisa said

    Ooh, “dangerous” prayers. There’s a few of those: “Lord, grant me patience,” and “Whatever it takes, Lord.” We may be tested when we say those prayers, but we are definitely strengthened in those tests. How much faith do you have in your Lord? You’ll find out when you pray a “dangerous” prayer. Blessings, Maria. Thank you for another great post to think about.

  5. helenl said

    Hope you soon feel better, Maria. It’s hard to keep on doing everything you should when you feel bad. Yes, God is in control. I’m praying that you feel beeter soon.

  6. Aaron said

    In our weakness he is made strong. Having in there. Praying that you feel better.

  7. jarvis said

    Get Well Soon! Blessings In Christ Sis!

  8. Brian Alexander said

    I didn’t like how the text was so large..i changed it back.

    -Brian

  9. Brian Alexander said

    Hope you feel better. It sucks being sick during the holidays. I’m praying for you.

    -Brian

  10. I love those kind of prayers. Sounds like your’re right in place for a miracle! Keep believing!
    Blessings to you,
    Ronda

  11. Jerry said

    I think same, in our weakness he is made stronger. I have also been feeling a little uninspired lately – a few blogs here and there – but nothing really all that earth-shaking… push on my friend, hold my hand and we’ll push on together… 🙂 god bless… Jerry (italktogod.wordpress.com)

  12. Jason said

    i am curious what a “safe” prayer sounds like. it is dangerous to even be a follower of Christ! Pray dangerously and pray loudly so everyone may hear!

  13. Hopefully you are well enough for the great feast that is Christmas – the Birth of Our Blessed Lord.

  14. Linda Elms said

    “Dangerous Prayers” are good to pray, because you are placing yourself in the arms of the Almighty God who said, “I am with you alway even unto the end of the world.” There is also another word from scripture that says, “Casting all your care upon Him, for He CARES for you.” When you pray these prayers HE knows you want His help and attention. Who could you go to that loves you anymore than HIM? Keep praying!

Leave a Reply

