Things can only get better!

January 1, 2007

There’s a fish tank on my desk which houses my fish who’s called Mandarin!  Over the months the tank has become rather grubby and green.  Several colleagues threatened to report me to the Fish Association(!) if i failed to clean the tank, so i faithfully transferred Mandarin to another temporary abode while attempting to scrub the sides of the tank in the ladies toilets.

After many reams of toilet tissue and elbow grease the tank looked more presentable… however it looked damaged and tainted forever by my lack of care.  Things looked better, but they didn’t look good.

In life I can think there’s no hope for me, that i’ll always be tainted by my past or by my sin.  I can let God do a work but looking at myself feel far from cleaned up. 

There is hope though!

In my absence a colleague brought in a scouring kit and scrubbed the tank back to perfection.  I didn’t think it possible!! 

Our God can scrub away our hurts, pain, sin and more.  We can be made new again this year!

8 Responses to “Things can only get better!”

  1. The lesson I get from today’s blogging is “God sometimes uses other people to get the work done in my life!”
    Thanks for the reminder.
    teresa_anawim

  2. This post made me think of this scripture. I love the “new mercies” of God every morning too.
    Blessings to you this new year,
    Ronda
    2Co 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

  3. timglass said

    Great Thoughts Maria.
    His blessings this day.

  4. autumnrose said

    What a fantastic analogy… 🙂

    Lord, please scrub the fishtank of my life clean!

  5. DulceDiana said

    Hi Maria!

    Many blessings this New Year!. I think I will go clean now…lol…

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  6. Brian Alexander said

    Thanks for the comment. What do you mean by annointed bloging in 2007?

  7. I love the way God can clean us up and make us brand spanking new! Great post.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  8. What a great analogy! Super post!

Leave a Reply

