There’s MORE!

January 4, 2007

It’s amazing to think that whatever we’re experiencing right now in life, whether positive or negative, there’s always something greater which we haven’t yet experienced.  There’s always MORE from God.

After the fullness of joy in this life comes the pinnacle of joy: life eternal with the One whom we were created to be with.  Handing one’s life over to God on earth results in the possibility of the impossible happening a life before reaching eternity.  I would not be where i am today if i only had my own strength and power to open doors and change situations.

In human terms David looked puny & weak before Goliath, in his own strength he seemed pathetic and destined to lose the battle.  But David came to the fight with God, it was God who worked through him.  He needed no armour or body guards.  We can look at our own human state and disbelieve that there’s MORE, but in God there is!

Lord, i give you where i’m at today.  I know there are greater depths of Your Love yet to know… let me not be satisfied with where i am at with You now, but keep pressing on in the race.

22 Responses to “There’s MORE!”

  1. timbob said

    I really enjoy visiting your site; even in the middle of the night as is the case now. The phrase “Lord I give you where I am today” really caught my attention. That should be for every day as he will complete the good work that he has started in us. Your insights are always appreciated.

  2. Amen Maria! We can give him our today and most of all our yesterday, and start anew.

  3. Sissy B. said

    This is certainly the prayer I need to pray today! Thank you for stopping by my Front Porch and joining me in a cup of tea ;)This New Year finds me a bit frazzled which only means one thing…I need to stop and give it all to God…He is my calm in the storm.

  4. Sarah said

    Yes God makes the impossible possible in even the weakest of us. Happy New Year 🙂

  5. timglass said

    Through God all things are possible!
    His blessings this day!

  6. DulceDiana said

    We do not suffer in vain Amen! He is our Hope.
    Praise God!

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  7. Beautifully said, Maria. 🙂 And so fitting with what I just read not five minutes ago:
    Romans 10:11 For the Scripture says, “Whoever believes in Him will not be disappointed.”

    My passage for the year goes along with what you said as well, particularly the fresh start: Philippians 3:13,14 Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Maria. 🙂

    Sincerely,

    Mrs. Nicklebee

  8. stuart said

    Amen…there is always MORE.

  9. Amen. I am so thankful the God is in control and that despite my weaknesses, HE makes me strong. God is so Good.

    God Bless and Happy New Year!

  10. Shirley said

    Maria, I’ve heard the story of David and Goliath since I was a wee child, but I never tire of hearing it. It truly is amazing what we can do when we link up with God and His amazing power.

    Blessings to you and to all who read here.

    shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  11. Great post, Maria. Where would any of us be if God could not be the strength in our weakness? This post reminded me of one of my favorite songs, and I hope you don’t mind me posting the words here. Blessings to you.

    When Others See A Shepherd Boy

    One by one Jesse’s sons
    Stood before the prophet
    Their father knew a king
    Would soon be found
    And each one passed
    Except the last
    No one thought to call him
    Surely he would never
    Wear a crown

    CHORUS: But when others see a shepherd boy
    God may see a king
    Even though your life seems filled
    With ordinary things
    In just a moment He can touch you
    And everything will change
    When others see a shepherd boy
    God may see a king

    One by one problems come
    And dreams get shattered
    And sometimes it’s hard
    To understand
    But things like chance
    And circumstance
    They don’t really matter
    Our Father holds tomorrow
    In His hands

    CHORUS

    Well it wasn’t the oldest
    It wasn’t the strongest
    Chosen on that day
    And yet the giants fell
    And nations trembled
    When they stood in his way

    CHORUS

  12. Moe said

    It is amazing, exciting and sometimes, almost a little scary, to think there is so much more left to learn about God, myself, and the world around me.

    I think keeping this in perspective, is a good way to keep from getting a big head, because there truly is so much left.

    -Kelsey

  13. Aaron said

    David is my favorite by far! He is such an inspiration to me. Max Lucado’s new book “Facing Your Giants” is a great read about David as well. God bless you!

  14. Brian Alexander said

    Great post Maria. Very true..i’ve got to be reminded of the simple things sometimes. Thanks!

  15. Bill said

    Dear fellow-blogger,

    Hopefully, your 2007 is getting off to a fantastic start. My prayer is that you will be blessed by God with many opportunities for fruitful service in the Lord’s kingdom in the new year.

    I wanted to let you know that I’ve listed your blog on my blogroll at The Spiritual Oasis’ web site. If you have additional blogs that you would like to see listed or would like to recommend others, please send word to:
    contactus[at]thespiritualoasis.org.

    To view The Spiritual Oasis’ blogroll click the following link:

    The Spiritual Oasis Blogroll

  16. Amen In His Hands….isn’t that cool? You gave Him you, at this time. You put it in His hands.

    God Bless you in the midnight Hour.

  17. ukok said

    Maria, may I just take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for a peaceful, enriching and much blessed New Year.

    God bless!

  18. Chris D said

    Your posts are always like a cup of cold water in the desert. Thank you for exhorting us to press onward and to keep growing!

    Chris

  19. Keith M. said

    Amen. There is always more to look forward to in Christ. =D

  20. Living in the Present. I have to remind myself of that when the world presses in.

Leave a Reply

