Knife throwing!

January 9, 2007

I woke the other morning to a banging sound which was reminiscent of a dog scratching on a door.  After a few moments i realised it was my mother stuck in the bathroom, gently tapping and enquiring if anyone was available to help her!

Being a helpful daughter i leapt out of bed and ran out onto the landing to see how i could assist. My father had gone to find various chiselling implements along with some oil in an attempt to loosen the fixed door catch.

After some arguments and debate between those of us who were not trapped about the best method to free our distressed mother, i ran out into the garden in my pyjamas, in the rain, and began throwing knives up at the window!

This wasn’t my attempt at a career change (a knife thrower with a circus), but rather my trying to get a knife to my Mum so she could prise her way out! After a couple of trys (please note: don’t try this at home!) a knife made it through the window and after her 20 minute wait my Mum escaped.

In life we can feel trapped. We can sense that where we are at is it.  God can be like my Mum gently tapping on the door saying, ‘Anyone there?’!  Equally we can be asking God ‘are you there’?

God’s small voice is there even in the darkest of places, as well as in the times of joy, always wanting to take us deeper into His love.  Thank you Lord that you are available to talk to us and advise us any time day or night, and that we don’t get an engaged tone when we dial up!

25 Responses to “Knife throwing!”

  1. I’m thankful He is a God that continually knocks at our hearts door.

    Rev 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    P.S. I’m glad you were able to rescue your mother too!

  2. Hi Maria,

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I certainly covet the number of comments you get on your posts! I like the way you established a connection between the difficulty with your Mum and the opportunity available to us to call on our Lord at any time. Nicely done! And I’m glad everything turned out all right for your family. By the way, I’m a quirky American who likes English spellings. I hope that won’t scare you too much.

    All God’s Best,

    Pilgrimsarbour

  3. timbob said

    Greetings again. I’m glad that everything went well and that your Mom is free. I had a small rescue this morning myself. I returned home from work at 3:20 (I’m on second shift) and heard the goats making a commotion. Yesterday afternoon when Megan and Ryan did chores, they put Booton (I didn’t come up with the name) on the milk stand and forgot to let her back down again. She was up there for several hours. She seems to be ok. Thanks for sharing the above story. I always look forward to stopping by.

  4. Maria, you are so gifted in teaching; in bringing the Word and real life together. Thanks for this.

  5. revtc said

    thanks for looking in maria, and for your encouragement.
    it does seem that wordpress picks up more americans than english people, but there are plenty of us about.
    have a look through my blogroll…
    with every blessing.

  6. Once again, this was a very good post.

  7. timglass said

    Maria, this post is on the “cutting edge”! 🙂
    His blessings this day!

  8. helenl said

    Good post, Maria.

  9. stuartdelony said

    I never realized you were such a violent persion, toth. throwing knives and such.

  10. Was you mother more distressed about being stuck in the bathroom, or about how you tried to save her?? 🙂 Great post Maria!

  11. There is a song I used to sing with a choir several years ago and the chorus said “Call Him Up, Call Him Up….” I am so glad that I can call Him up anytime day or night and that I always get through.

    Glad your mum was freed. Again I enjoyed your post. You truly have a gift.

    God Bless!

    Eva in Ca.

  12. storbakken said

    I was kind of hoping that you were gonna tie the knife throwing into this post. Nonetheless, thanks for the post. And be careful throwing knives at your mama.

    Every blessing
    Jason in the US
    More Fire!

  13. kaymac said

    And thank you, Lord…that YOU are the one doing the catching of knives!

  14. ScottyG said

    Funny thing, on my drive to work in the mornings I often ponder about life and the day ahead. This morning I felt doubtful, pressured, trapped – if I may use your term. Your tale of throwing knives brought a great joy to me and improved my outlook on the day greatly. Doesn’t God know just how to cheer us up!

  15. ScottyG said

    Maria, I am seeking permission to republish this post in our small church bulletin. May I?

  16. Shirley said

    Wonderful analogy, Maria.

    blessings and hope!

    shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  17. Susanna said

    Thank you for your kind comments. My sister once got stuck in the bathroom……thankfully a bit of brute force opened the door as she was very young. I love the words ‘The Lord opened Lydia’s heart’….not a direct quote I know, but so true. He knocks and He opens.

  18. Brian Alexander said

    thanks. I like it too. haha

    -Brian

  19. Great spiritual application, Maria!
    I enjoy visiting your blog.

  20. Jayleigh said

    Maria. You!!!! You’re always the one with the timely message, aren’t you?

    I appreciate you so much, and your words of wisdom.

    🙂

    God Bless!

  21. Steve said

    Thank you Maria!!!

    I hope that you don’t get a cold being out in the wet, I have got a cold (MAN FLUE) I would not wish is on any one.

    Blessings and Peace.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  22. Kathy said

    Maria! The imagery of you in full very wet PJ finery, lobbing cutlery through the rain toward your mom’s bathroom window – too funny! And then you so beautifully entwined us in God’s love through this analogy.

    I posted for the first time to your blog downthread on “lonliness” – hope to be back more often.

    Blessings to you!

    Kathy in Texas

  23. Jen said

    Hi Maria,

    It’s good to know that God is always there! Hope you’re doing well!!

    Jen

  24. Linda Elms said

    Thank you for your story and the lesson you taught from it. Jesus was a “Master Storyteller”. I love how He stands at the door and knocks. He doesn’t give up. He loves us too much to leave us trapped!

  25. Joni Ruhs said

    You are an awesome storyteller.

    I was thinking from your 3rd paragraph (arguments and debate about how to free the trapped) about how the church can do that to each other. We argue and debate & consequently paralyze ourselves about the best way to reach the trapped people of this world. Sometimes you just need to try something.

Leave a Reply

