Complicated coats

January 10, 2007

My black winter’s coat looks a mess when i wear it with my white wool scarf because little white hairs end up everywhere!  If my scarf was black there would be no problem – i wouldn’t notice any additional hairs which had attached themselves to my coat.

Believe it or not i was led to think about scripture while wondering how to remove the wool of my scarf from the said outer garment!  Philippians 4 reminds of the need to be people who are pure, yet in everyday life we persistantly mess up, so what’s going on?! 

We’re called to be pure and holy, without stain or mess in our life, like a black coat with no white hairs on.  BUT the thing i learnt is that the more we’re in the light, the more we’re becoming who God intends us to be, the more we notice the stains.  If however we are far from God, we’re fully in the dark place then we don’t notice the white hairs at all, like white hairs on a white coat.

The more you’re in the light, the more it shows up the darkness in your life, so don’t despair over your recurring sins – rejoice that you acknowledge them as wrong because many can’t even see the error of their ways.

17 Responses to “Complicated coats”

  1. i really like your blog. i can also tell that you’re sensitive to Him and i think i really need that right now – to be able to see the spots in my life that isn’t pleasing to Him. somehow i feel a little distant from Him these days and just don’t know why.

  2. themissiodei said

    Hi Maria,

    Thanks for the comment. This is my first time to your blog. It is great. Anyway. I will visit again, you do the same.

  3. Refinedone said

    …hmmm
    True words Maria, Yes in the ligth we cannot help but be more like Him…but we should grow up and TAKE our ligth into darkness…for as we know darkness has no power over ligth ( no matter or tiny)

    Thanks 4 stopping by…:)

  4. Jason99 said

    Right on, Maria. Nicely illustrated message.

  5. eph2810 said

    What a great analogy between being in the light and your white scarf on a black coat…
    Blessings to your day and always.

  6. Great post and message. 🙂

  7. DulceDiana said

    Great truth!! The more I know Him the less I like myself (my carnal desires that is).

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  8. Keith M. said

    Amen! Your blog is a great encouragement to me, I always enjoy coming here! =D

  9. rdeemed70 said

    Good word! I have to remember that one! Be blessed my Sistah! Happy New year!!

  10. Lorna said

    good thoughts 🙂

  11. jeanetteb1 said

    G’day for “down under”!

    Hey, great insight! Must read more of your blog… after a good night’s sleep. It’s too later here and I’m too sleepy! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Bless ya!

  12. Chris D said

    Such encouragement–thank you. My son has asperger’s syndrome, that’s why I posted the thing about Burt Bacharach’s daughter.

    Thank you for saying hi, Maria!!!!

  13. Amen! very nice post.

  14. helenl said

    Hi Maria. Glad you are an encouragement to so many.

  15. AutumnRose said

    I can identify with your illustration ~ I too have a scarf like that! 🙂

  16. Joni Ruhs said

    What an awesome perspective! I’m going to pass it to some women I met with today. We were talking about beating ourselves up over our mistakes. Good word!

  17. Yesterday, I was wearing a black denim skirt that for some reason seems to attract white lint. I kept picking the lint off, so I can relate to what you are saying. Very good analogy! I’m glad God shows us ourselves and then is patient in working with us to help us do something about it.

Leave a Reply

