the weak are strong when the strong are weak!

January 16, 2007

Matt Redman was in the office yesterday promoting his new album.  For those of you who don’t know his work, he is an anointed worship guy in the UK whose songs are widely sung in churches around the world.

He arrived at my workplace clutching a coffee cup from a local coffee house – all important to wake him up for early morning interviews after a night with a 4 month old baby (who is the cutest baby boy!).  The most inspiring thing for me was hearing that this man who is a household name when it comes to worship music was actually before now a timid man who never dreamed of being able to jump around a stage praising God in view of others.

In a beautiful tale he shared how his wife, Beth, an outgoing woman, had helped him along with the Holy Spirit to be bolder.  Being open about his weakness was a powerful thing and revealed a humility in spite of his Christian ‘fame’.  Even now Matt says he can’t read music, yet his work can be heard being sung internationally.

I was reminded that God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies those he calls.  I used to be terrified of speaking but now i speak for a living.  Our God is an awesome God!

19 Responses to “the weak are strong when the strong are weak!”

  1. inhisgrace said

    a minute ago i was just about to lock myself up in my room and cry to God about being very small and useless and totally UNequipped for what i feel He is calling me to do (my work). and now reading your post really gives me that assurance in a way, knowing that He qualifies those that He calls to do His work. thank you Maria!

  2. timbob said

    Truly our sufficiency is in Christ and he alone will glory. When we reach the Red Sea, it is then when we can “be still and know that he is God.

  3. Jason99 said

    That’s a very encouraging persective. Thanks for sharing that, Maria.

  4. Lorna said

    terrific – thanks. I do like your short posts – they cut right to the point and hit the spot!

    Your job sounds interesting 🙂

  5. Dave said

    Being currently unemployed it would be very easy to disappear within myself, full of self pity and despair. But I know that God will equip me for what He whats me to do and for where he wants me to be working. Praise God!

  6. eph2810 said

    Oh.my.goodness. You know Matt Redman personally. How awesome. I love his music and sing it often in my car driving to and from work. God has blessed him very much…
    You are right – God is training us in the things He wants us to serve – an awesome God we serve indeed.

  7. blessed1 said

    What an encouraging story and testimony. Thank you for sharing this.

  8. Lisa said

    I love that phrase: “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies those he calls.” Thanks for sharing this with us, Maria. As always, you make a point well. Thanks! I was going to email you, but I can’t find a way to. Would you mind emailing me sometime when you have a chance?

  9. Aaron said

    Matt Redman is amazing. A friend once asked me if I thought God would have either Matt Redman or Chris Tomlin lead worship when we get to heaven. At first I laughed that question off, but the more I thought about it, the more I wonder the same thing. They both have realized an amazing spiritual gift.

  10. helenl said

    Truly God calls whomever he calls. But then, he expects the called to become qualified for his/her calling. For example, when God calls someone to be a priest, it doesn’t just happen. Likewise, an artist for the Lord must perfect his/her craft.

    I never heard of Matt Redman so I’m not as impressed as some. LOL

  11. stuartdelony said

    that was great, I love it! it’s so true. Thank God for using all of us unqualified ones!

  12. Matt Redman?.. He is the composer for the ‘When the music fade’ right?

    Pardon me.. I am from presbyterian, not that up to date to the contemporary praise and worships.

    Talking about unqualified.. all of us are.. =).. it is all about grace..

  13. DulceDiana said

    I love this. It encourages me to hear this testimony. there hope for me yet….lol

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  14. stuartdelony said

    what do you do for a job where matt redman casually stops in!?!

  15. kaymc said

    Here is a personal story I know about Matt. He was doing a concert in MI and the church it was held at had someone in the hospital who was very ill. Matt, with some other guys, went to the hospital after his concert, to spend some time w/ this person.

    This are the things I love about the Body of Christ!

  16. I too have struggled with shyness, and although I can’t say I have overcome it completely, I have come a long way with God’s help. When as a third grade child I stood up to give a book report and was so nervous that no words could come out of my mouth, I never dreamed that one day I would be a pastor’s wife, that I would be singing in front of people every Sunday, etc. I’m glad God is a God that doesn’t look at our ability but our availability. If we’re available to do what He calls us to do, He will make up for whatever we lack.

  17. frank said

    Maria,
    So true – great thought and wisdom for today. As a musician and sometimes worship leader, I’m always thinking I can’t do it like “Redman” or “Tomlin” or whoever. But, you know, God created me to be me, the good and bad. He is an awesome God! Always faithful and always equipping.

  18. THanks for stopping by the blog today. I posted a reply there.

    Wow! Matt Redman huh?

    Why is it that he’d be at your job? What do you do?

  19. jarvis said

    He is definitely in the business of Giving Shape to unformed clay.

    Blessings in Christ Sis

Leave a Reply

