The Unexpected!

January 19, 2007

Last night something was said to me which i wasn’t expecting and wasn’t prepared for. 

Many times a word has been spoken to me and at the time it has seemed hard to digest, but on reflection it has proved be a life changing word, causing me to think about things in a fresh way.

A friend of mine who is wise in spiritual matters once very gently told me that my greatest gift and indeed my greatest weakness was ambition.  At the time i was cut to the heart and slightly perturbed.  Now looking back it was one of the most significant and important things that could’ve been said to me.   It made me see my need to test my motivation for every action. 

I have come to realise that every gift we have can be used for God’s glory or for the opposite of that – we have a  choice.   Praise God for our brothers and sisters who out of Love for us and a desire for what is best raise issues which may challenge us and cause us to grow in holiness.

21 Responses to “The Unexpected!”

  1. inhisgrace said

    good reminder for us all. bless your weekend ahead! 🙂

  2. Johnny said

    Honest words, Maria.

    Thanks for that

  3. eph2810 said

    Depending how you are using your ambition – it can be good thing 🙂

    My biggest gift is gentleness, but it has gotten me into trouble…

  4. timglass said

    Faithful are the wounds of a friend. (Prv. 27:6)
    His blessings this day.

  5. timbob said

    It’s always good to continyally check our motivations in all things; to ensure that we are seeking to exhort and not seeking any self-serving agenda. Your insights are always appreciated and taken to heart.

  6. Lisa said

    Criticism is really hard for me to swallow. My husband pointed out to me the other day how much time I spend on the computer blogging & emailing & how it wasn’t really good for the kids for me to be on the computer all day. I was mad, until I realized he was right! I hate to be told what to do, or what I need to change. But you are absolutely right, sometimes we need to not get defensive so quickly, & instead thoughtfully listen to what’s being said. We will know the spirit in which it was spoken, & we will understand we needed to hear it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts (& weaknesses)!

  7. DulceDiana said

    Thank God for the gifts of the Spirit. Thank God for mature people in Christ who edify the body. Thank God for true friends.
    Many blessings Maria.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  8. helenl said

    Hi Maria. I can see why such criticism would be hard to swallow. But then we do need to make our desires are in line with God’s will. Enter: much prayer.

  9. Constructive criticism can be a great thing, when it’s done in the spirit of love and received that way too.

  10. jarvis said

    His Love expressed through genuine friends is ever sweet.

    Blessings In Christ Sis

  11. kaymac said

    Good post, as usual.

  12. Hey Maria,
    I have an important and urgent message for you and your readers. There is an urgent situation in the entertainment industry that needs to be prayed for, talked about, and acted upon.

    Here is a link to an article I wrote about it: http://kingdomadvancing.blogspot.com/2007/01/wrong-in-so-many-ways.html

    I would be very much obliged if you could create a short post linking to this article, or you could write a whole post of your own about the topic. This is not about making my blog more popular: this is about protecting a young girl (Dakota Fanning) and sticking up for what’s right.

    I believe this is an opportunity for you to use your blog for God’s glory–as you usually do. I hope you can help.

  13. Amen.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    Donna

  14. Joni said

    Yep. Been there. Its also hard to hear truth even if its communicated poorly. I hate that.

  15. Great post as usual, Maria. Thanks again.

  16. Phil said

    Through the years I’ve learned that many weaknesses are a strength taken to an extreme. It’s when the Lord controls that we are “in our best form”. When we let Him empower -or say no- that we are most successful by His standards.

    Tough thing is, this is a lesson that requires re-learning at various stages of our walk with Him.

    Well – said.

    Phil—

  17. AutumnRose said

    Once again Maria, thanks 🙂 Sorry I’ve not popped in for a while ~ it’s been a bit of a stressful couple of weeks 😉

  18. Wow, Maria. I can’t say how true that is for me as well. I really needed to understand that thought and have never heard it put that way before.

    Thanks!

  19. chris d said

    I did one of those test things and my friends said a lot of things opposite of me. I just couldn’t believe it. Such as I was analytical. ??

    It made me think about myself and I am grateful for their honesty and their humor.

    Thanks again for the post, Maria. Have a lovely weekend!

  20. Trekant said

    Wow- stunningly honest and mature post. As always I get something from your blog.

Leave a Reply

