Confuser for God

January 25, 2007

Have you ever been in a situation you have desperately wanted to resolve or get out of?

It’s those dark moments where there seems to be no hope, no way forward, no solution, only bleakness.

I’ve been challenged of late to praise God in spite of the circumstances, to sing praise to Him no matter what i’m feeling, even if everything around appears to be crumbling. 

The Devil gets confused when we praise God in the middle of despair, because his great achievement would be to get us to spiral down into greater pain.

Through praise our situation will be made smaller and God will be given a door through which He can enter to bring healing.

21 Responses to “Confuser for God”

  1. jarvis said

    Right on target Maria…Praise G-d for showing us how Small our ‘big’ challenges are to Him.

    Blessings in Christ Sis

  2. inhisgrace said

    bless you Maria. hope everything is going ok.

  3. N Suresh said

    Hi

    I have incidently seen your website. I have read many of your articles by today itself.

    My Sincere appreciation.

    May God bless you abundantly beyond measures.

    Sincerely yours
    N Suresh
    India
    Kindly email me

  4. jllandry said

    Absolutely true, and eloquently put! Thank you so much for sharing your wisdom.

    Jacqui
    The Pedantic Bohemian

  5. aethen said

    God is so good.

    Salute.

  6. Bill said

    This is an excellent thought, Maria. Your creativity shines through, as well. What an excellent title. It reminds me of the scene in 2 Chronicles 20. Here Jehoshaphat appointed men to sing to the LORD, praising Him for the splendor of his holiness as they went out at the head of the army.

    Thanks for your excellent work here and this very thoughtful post.

    Blessings,
    -bill

  7. well said maria…as kingdom citizens praise is vital to our everyday success…I find using the following acronym to at the start of my day to be quite helpful

    P.resent yourself as a living sacrifice
    R.aise your hands in submission to God
    A.udibly speak praise and thanksgiving
    I.nvite the presence of the Holy Spirit
    S.ing a new song of praise to God
    E.xpect to see God and HIs goodness manifest throughout your day:)

  8. kvmusic said

    Job is a perfect example praising God when everything and everyone made it clear that he shouldn’t be thankful…

    In the midst of such despair… worship and praise is the hardest thing to do, when within that surrender we somehow find peace.

    Thank you for this remider…

  9. Joni said

    I like the idea of confusing the devil. Interesting way to put it.

  10. Act 16:25 And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.
    Act 16:26 And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.

    It worked for Paul and Silas. They were in an unpleasant situation, in a prison, yet they chose to praise God. Not only were their bands loosed, but those around them were affected by their praise too. My former pastor used to say, “You can praise your way out of anything.” Our praises to God not only help to liberate us from our “prisons”, but they can spill over and affect others too!

  11. We thank God for his omnipotence power for in any situation, He is able to make a way of escape for us.

    God bless you.

  12. DulceDiana said

    Praising through the storm…

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  13. You’re right, and I know you’ll come through with flying colors!

  14. Lorna said

    David quit fasting when his son died and started praising God – that’s always been a good reminder to me that our praise does not – and should not – depend on how we feel.

  15. Wonderfully put Maria, God Bless

  16. frank said

    Great thoughts Maria. I’ve been going through a situation that seems will never heal, but I’m learning that I must go through it, not around it. Praise and faith, I’m learing, are my weapons against the enemy of my soul.

  17. Robk said

    Thanks, again. Your posts are hitting right where I needed lately. I have been trying to remind myself about this lately.

  18. Back in December I was in a storm which I wished would go away.
    All I could do was hold on and pray Psalm 57
    “I will take refuge under the shadow of your wings untill the storms of destruction pass by”

    Hang in there, Maria.

  19. Kyle Zehr said

    Thank you Maria, for this wonderful post. I love your wording of confusing the devil with our Praise. Thanks for allowing me to breathe in deep! Praising Him in Chicago…

  20. That is very revealing article

Leave a Reply

