You are what you eat!

January 31, 2007

As i sat munching on a dried fig yesterday i found myself transported back to the time of Jesus in my mind, the times when fig trees were used in His illustrations.  I began wondering what Jesus ate besides fish and figs?

I love chocolate and pastries but for two weeks now i’ve been eating healthy.  At first i was a nightmare to be around… irritable Maria Syndrome was the diagnosis i gave myself.  In fact, it was my body reacting to withdrawing from addictive foods… all the ‘e’ colourings and preservatives and gunk.

People often say a mediterranean diet is the best, but for those of us living in the west it’s really not all that practical.  We know that our bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, yet we continue to abuse them in so many ways: we fill our minds with that which does not build up our souls, we fill our stomachs with addictive unhealthy foods, we fail to exercise to keep our bodies in tip top shape for the Lord.

It’s so easy to say, ‘i must be fit and healthy’, but quite another thing to bring it into reality.  Food has a hold over us – it affects our mood, and so many areas of life. 

God wants a marvellous life for you, one full of joy and energy but believe it or not, the food you eat could be getting you down.  I’m not suggesting that you suddenly try to transform your diet altogether (that’s not easy at all) but start small and reap the harvest – both white flour and white sugar are addictive… start by cutting those out and see your energy levels grow.

I want you to be the best you can be for God because food could be holding you back from claiming the life on earth God intended for you.  God give you strength and courage.

23 Responses to “You are what you eat!”

  1. Johnny said

    Boy oh boy is this a word for me, Maria!

  2. timglass said

    That is great food for thought, Maria!
    His blessings this day.

  3. eph2810 said

    I have been trying to cut out a lot of stuff out of my diet. Thanks for the encouragement — better grab my little carrots out of the fridge and take them as my snack food :).

    Blessings on your day…

  4. What a great post!
    My husband and I have been studying about “Honoring God with Our Bodies”
    I believe Satan can use food to keep us sluggish and lazy —thus keeping us from having the energy to work for God.
    Loved the message.

    In Him,
    Neva

  5. Shirley said

    Good morning, Maria and thanks for the spiritual, yet practical post.

    Why are we so drawn to food that is not especially good for us, and have little taste for the finer things?

    Blessings and joy today.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  6. Bill said

    Excellent post, Maria!

    Thanks,
    -bill

  7. timbob said

    In our neck of the woods, the average diet is atrocious. Fast food; requiring no preperation and no waiting along with anything microwavable. I’m as guily as anyone, although as one ages, the levels of consumption decrease. A disciplined diet is essential as is discipline in every area of life. Thanks for another insightful post.
    Have a most blessed day in Christ
    timbob

  8. storbakken said

    Well, if that don’t put pepper in the gumbo!

  9. May St. John Bosco bless you and your work Maria!

  10. DulceDiana said

    Love the ending paragraph. If we strive to do great things in his Kingdom our bodies must be in shape for the things to come.

    Love,
    DulceDiana

  11. Ah, the battle with food! I have cut back on sugar a lot and am trying to eat fruit instead of cakes, cookies, etc. The exercise part? Well, I do go up and down the stairs quite a bit here. That must count for something!

  12. I concur. It is time to get back on the bandwagon and start treating ourselves right.

    God Bless!

  13. faithwalk said

    We are on the same page though I am guilty of not always avoiding the things I know make me feel awful.
    I love healthy fod, but there are those days…
    Right now coffee is the thing I am thinking needs to go. 🙂

    Too much caffiene is akin to too much sugar for me and I have them together, tsk, tsk tsk!

    Bless you Maria for the good word!

  14. faithwalk said

    make that healthy food!

  15. Brian Alexander said

    figs aren’t good in my opinion, but great overal post.

    -Brian

  16. Sis. Julie said

    I totally agree with the affect that certain foods have on us. Fatty and starchy foods tend to weigh us down (literally) and keep us from feeling like doing much of anything. And when we don’t feel like doing much of anything we are most times ineffective in those things we do. The Lord has really been working me over about my diet. Thank you for being used of the Lord to once again…”work me over!!”

  17. I just came in the house, sat at the computer and proceded tucking away…breaking my strict diet for the first time after being good for so long…I got Chinese food….logged on to your site …and…..Uh-Oh! LOL

  18. donna said

    It is amazing how little we really know about nutrition and eating well…Stormie Omartian wrote an excellent book about eating healthy God’s way….starting with fasting and cleansing the body of toxins….I am committed to a new me so I can be physically, emotionally, and spiritually energized and better fit to serve the Lord Jesus…Amen

  19. chris d said

    Shared this post with a group–you did a great job!

  20. jarvis said

    Quality post as usual Maria…tending to the physical vessels His Gives us can be quite beneficial to our heartily worship of The King. …also opens up more opportunities for us to Love/Serve(In Christ) are neighbors & fellow believers. Cheers Sis!

  21. Lee said

    Very good, for the first time in my life at age 38 I’m trying to eat more, well you know.
    Bought a blender and mixed some fruits and veg, oh anyway, all started watching TBN’s Praise the Lord.

    I have been suffering awful often continuous heartburn, probably an ulcer, so bad.
    But having done research, well, Amen, see this, it’s awesome:

    http://www.4hurtingchristians.com/why_do_i_have_tumors_like_skin_melanoma_and_lung_and_breast_cancer.html

  22. QNxQN8 Blogs rating, add your blog to be rated for free:
    http://blogsrate.net

  23. Alva said

    Hey – whats up. Thanks a bunch for the blog. I’ve been digging around for info, but i think i’m getting lost!. Yahoo lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back over here in a few days to see if there is updated posts.

Leave a Reply

