God of the unexpected!

February 6, 2007

 I’m convinced that God is constantly looking for ways to make us smile.  Imagine someone close to you planning surprise party in your honour… or being a parent wanting to see the look of joy of your child’s face when they’re given their favourite meal or told they’re going to the park; so too God delights in us.

Sometimes we can feel like we’re in a desert place spiritually or generally in life, often convincing ourselves tha maybe God’s too busy to have our interests at heart and free us from our affliction. 

Imagine you had only been able to hear in one ear and then one day could hear in both… how much more appreciative would you be of the gift of hearing than if you’d always heard clearly.

The times of darkness make us open to receive God’s unexpected gifts more fully. 

Last night before a potentially life-changing meeting i prayed for God to have His way.  He gave me two scripture references (this is not a common occurence for me, and i had no idea what the references were about until i looked them up!).  If i hadn’t been desperate, and found God giving me references all the time, then i wonder how much i would’ve appreciated the blessing it was (Colossians 3:17 & 4:17).

God wants to bless you this day, so if you’re in darkness it’s only so you can see the stars brighter… for stars only shine in the dark!

13 Responses to “God of the unexpected!”

  1. Johnny said

    “Imagine you had noly been able to hear in one ear and then one day could hear in both… how much more appreciative would you be of the gift of hearing than if you’d always heard clearly.”

    Sounds like you’re still having that iPod conversation with John Pantry! :-)))

  2. Peter said

    Thanks Maria for this encouraging message. I am having a very hard day at work and it is good to be reminded that we need to work as if we are working for God and that God is looking to bless us.

  3. Jason99 said

    Wow, Maria. That’s the big thing that I’ve been going through of late. You put into words something that I have recently just started to understand. Thanks!

  4. timglass said

    Nice.
    His blessings this day.

  5. helenl said

    Hi Maria, Great reminder that God is on our side; he wants us to be happy (in Him).

  6. stuartdelony said

    great reminder and love the star analogy. thank you!

  7. teresa_anawim said

    Thanks for this blogging today! Inspiring, edifying, encouraging… from your experience,encouraging us to have strength and offering us hope!

  8. DulceDiana said

    Awesome! Specially the last sentence really touched home…

  9. Robk said

    Thanks. Your posts always hit the right spot. God bless.

  10. Joni said

    Your last few posts have really helped me. I’m in a waiting position right now which I stink at! And I’m really wrestling with whether God will come through. On one hand I know he will, but how? The way I want or the way that’s best for me? I get so hung up and forget not to worry. Ugh.

  11. cumby said

    There is a scripture that comes to mind but I can’t think of exactly where it is, “His blessings will overtake you.”

    Like a loving Father who wants the best for His children, He longs for us to allow Him to bless us.

    “I lay before you life and death, blessings and cursings; choose life.”

  12. “The times of darkness make us open to receive God’s unexpected gifts more fully.” Reminds me of part of a song I know called Be Grateful.

    Verse 1:
    God has not promised me sunshine,
    that’s not the way it’s going to be;
    but a little rain (a little rain)
    mixed with God’s own sunshine,
    a little pain (a little pain),
    makes me appreciate the good times.

    Chorus

    Verse 2:
    God desires to fill your longings,
    every pain that you feel,
    He feels them, just like you (just like you);
    but He can’t afford to let you feel only good (only good),
    if you can’t appreciate the good times.

    It’s funny how I seem to associate songs with a lot of things that I read and hear!

Leave a Reply

