Boxing for God!

February 9, 2007

Although i can be feisty at times, i am usually considered to be even tempered; boxing, therefore, is not something i would naturally incline toward trying, but…

A few weeks ago i was stopped in the street and asked if i wanted a 7 day free gym trial.  Having never attended a gym EVER in my life i didn’t know what it would entail, but with my family telling me how much i lack exercise lately, i thought there was no harm in signing up.

Yesterday was Day 3 and i had a personal training session for an hour (before which i told a friend i might die from the hard work it is).  After the usual cycling and treadmill i ws asked to put some boxing gloves on…

To my horror and surprise i discovered that i was surprisingly good!  I have no plans to knock anyone to the ground however i suspect the trainer thought me to be a secret street fighter!

Why do i share all this?

Because as a child i was active – ballet, various sports etc- but for the past 5 years or so i’ve done virtually no exercise!  In going to the gym i’ve felt like i’ve been getting back in touch with who i was as a child, that is getting back in touch with the core of who God created me to be -a lively energetic person!

I urge you and encourage you to revisit who you were as a child because underneath the layers of of discovery and challenge you would’ve went through, you’ll learn more about who you’ve been created to be.

18 Responses to “Boxing for God!”

  1. inhisgrace said

    teehee i like the way you put it. happy boxing! 🙂

    enqi
    inhisgrace.wordpress.com

  2. Martin said

    Hey, nice thought!
    I like the subtitle of the your blog -‘pray, hope and don’t worry.’
    Also thanks for stopping by at my blog.

    Martin.

  3. timglass said

    Did you float like a butterfly, or sring like a bee? Or both?
    His blessings this day.

  4. DulceDiana said

    There is more to knowing ourselves than we think, we just have to dig deep…

    Cheering for you!

    DulceDiana

  5. Denise said

    Sweet blessings to you always.

  6. Bill said

    Your post made me think of these verses:

    24-25You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally.

    26-27I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself. ~1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (MSG).

    Blessings,
    -bill

  7. helenl said

    Beautiful, Maria. Finding the person “you’ve been created to be.”

  8. Jayleigh said

    OK you’ve convinced me. I need to get a sled and head for the nearest hill. No snowboards for me, no skis. I want to go sledding!!!

  9. sally said

    Good advice Maria- like you I’ve started exercising regularly- it is really helping esp with depression!
    Happy boxing
    Peace and blessings
    Sally

  10. donna said

    I linked back to you in my post of today. thanks for this timely confirmation. Be blessed.

  11. stuartdelony said

    great advice, but now I’m afraid of you and your boxing gloves.

  12. Faithwalk said

    Waht fun! Enjoy the gym and excercise, which strenthgens and even helps us have a brighter outlook on life when we are not so lethargic.
    The Lord created me to be an energetic person as well, and I am better for it when I keep active.

    Bless you Maria!

  13. Joanne said

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your workouts. That is great! I started working out 2 years ago and had never really done anything like. I really do love it.

    I understand what you are saying about “returning to your childhood.” I saw things in my own children from early on that was distinctive to their personalities and who God created them to be. One daughter in particular was very outgoing and vivacious. Going through school, I saw that is exactly the thing the enemy tried to steal from her. Thankfully, she is gaining that back now.

    For myself, though, I don’t know. I was painfully shy and read alot. Not sure what that would mean.

  14. storbakken said

    my girlfriend’s dad was the heavyweight boxing champion of Guyana. He’s still there most famous boxer and today he is a trainer and manager. It’s neat to watch a fight on Showtime and see him in the corner. I’ve visited his gym in Brooklyn and it’s definitely no healthy club. It’s a gym where some rough dudes practice pummeling each other.

  15. rindy said

    Excellent! Exercise brings out the best in all of us…and it can be great fun too!!!

  16. Grace said

    I think exercise really helps return a balance to our lives that most people who work sitting down at a desk all day lack.

    I’m really keen to know if you’re going to keep the gym up – it sounds like it’s doing you a lot of good.

  17. Steve said

    Keep up the good work.

    Blessings as ever.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  18. Joni said

    Your timing is always amazing. My husband and I joined a health club Saturday for all the obvious reasons. I left there so excited to get back into athlete mode. I used to play tennis but haven’t been able to for years, mostly because of the weight. I’m hoping that the exercise will help me stop taking my depression meds eventually. I loved using boxing in workouts. It is an empowering feeling.

Leave a Reply

