Messy World

February 12, 2007

Sitting on the train this morning i was surrounded by my junk – a hat, coat, bag, and other stuff strewn across the seat next to me.

It was a home from home with the mess about me, but i felt convicted!  If we live in clutter we cannot truly be free, free to be who God created us to be.  Clutter brings stress, it uses up time and acts as a distraction.

I am too busy to order things, and would need a few days off work, but if that means i can live in a peaceful surrounding maybe i should…

If a day is as a thousand years, then taking a day off to tidy might be a wise move.  I need to use each day wisely.

Give us the faith and trust to go against what society expects of us so we may be fully free to be ourselves. 

13 Responses to “Messy World”

  1. Linda said

    Maria, you always have such a good thought on the common things of life. I enjoy your blog. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. DulceDiana said

    Peace of mind in everything we do!

  3. timbob said

    Good morning. Another good post. I like the last line about going against what society expects of us so that we can be ourselves. I think of II Corinthians 3:17.
    Have a blessed day in Christ.
    timbob

  4. Another good post Maria. Thank you.

  5. Sis. Julie said

    I can’t stand for things to be in disorder. I agree with you that it brings stress. I know I always feel much better when things are all neat and clean as they should be.

  6. jarvis said

    I echo Diana on this one.

    Blessings In Christ Sis!

  7. teresa_anawim said

    Lots to ponder;thanks.

  8. Steve said

    Thank you I have to think about what clutter I have to get rid of.

    Peace.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  9. chrisd said

    It’s easier said than done, sometimes. I agree with you. Clutter robs a person of so much.

    Nice post!

    Hugs-

  10. I love this post and your mentioning of society. *THUMBS UP*

  11. Maria,
    Thanks for visiting Dancing in the Light.
    This post is so timely. We live in a society that encourages busyness and with busyness comes clutter. With clutter comes anxiety. The acquisition of things requires the time for maintenance of those things. and again clutter.
    Our God is not a God of chaos—we must simplify, simplify, simplify.
    Thanks fo sharing your thoughts.
    Peace
    Neva

  12. Kathy said

    Maria, Maria – what wonderful thoughts emanting from a look at the seat next to you on a commuter train. Wow!

    Clutter is the bane of my existence. It takes two forms in my house; Books and papers. I’m drowning in a sea of paper, which are anchored in their out of place place with books. In fact, I spent most of this afternoon clearing out paperwork, got tired so gathered up the remainder, put them in a very pretty file folder and stuck ’em in a drawer. Out of sight – out of mind.

    But now you’ve brought accountability into the picture so tomorrow morning I’ll just have to pull out all those bits and pieces of paper hiding behind the covers of their very pretty file folder,look at each one and try to either throw away, shred, or file them. Thanks a lot. LOL

    I too extend my thanks for your visit to beauangel’s World. Drop by anytime!

    Love your blog, Maria!

  13. jaminellis said

    I started to focus on decluttering my life about six months ago. A fantastic journey. So much more room in life for the important, and less stress and distraction. I found freecle very useful in the process of finding homes for things – http://www.freecycle.org or http://uk.freecycle.org/ in the uk. Time well invested.

Leave a Reply

