Are you in the right seat?

February 21, 2007

How many times have you looked down on someone or thought of yourself as better than another?  No?  Perhaps it’s just me!

If i completed a marathon run for charity or led worship at a service then i might pat myself on the back and say ‘well done!’.  Yes, those things may be good, but in the church community the preaher is no better than the worship leader, the worship leader no better than those in charge of the sound system, and they no better than those who clean the church or those who welcome people into the building.

All have two things in common: 1) they are children of God, 2) Have a unique purpose in the Body of Christ. 

If everyone wanted to be a preacher and was gifted at that then there’d be no one to listen to the sermons.  If everyone said welcoming was  a lesser role, then people might never enter the church to hear the song lyrics they needed to hear, because they didn’t feel at ease and welcomed enough to come in. 

How do you view yourself?  We are called to seee ourselves as God does: beautiful, called, and gifted.  But we are equal, no one better than the other, for God loves us equally… we just need to be faithful to the call He has placed on our life.

11 Responses to “Are you in the right seat?”

  1. lisaleichner said

    Maria, your posting of late has been hitting closer to home (though all of them are challenging and motivating!). I tend to be an outgoing, bossy-type person, so my involvement with the church is usually seen. While I don’t think that I look down on people who work more behind-the-scenes (please God let that be true!), I do tend to measure my own worth to the church with how much I do that gets praised. I worry about how others feel when actions that are more visible are praised more than those acts of service that are not visible. Is this making sense? Anyway, I have tried to make it a point to find out about behind-the-scenes service and really thank and encourage those people, because you are very right, without everyone, there would be no church. There are people who are gifted with writing notes to others as a form of encouragement, and there are those who enjoy serving when we have fellowship meals together. All of these people need to know how much they are needed and how much their service encourages others.

  2. unitedcats said

    Nicely said, and I can only agree. By the same token, as Ted Haggard has just sadly demonstrated, don’t assume that someone is better than you simply because they appear to be a beacon of piety and faith. Or as a friend of mine once put it “We’re all whores in Babylon.” BB and JMO —Doug

  3. DulceDiana said

    I think one of the biggest stumbling blocks in the church is when everyone tries to be someone else. This leads no where. If we can all be humble and let the Holy Spirit use us to His will, then we become a well-functioning body of believers.

    I have been privaleged to serve in many areas in the church. Once I experienced the joy of serving it didn’t matter if I was on stage or backstage, I know someone counted on me to give my best to Christ.

    Thanks Maria.

  4. The Bible compares God’s church to a human body where every part is important. We may not think much about some of our body parts, like our big toe, but have you ever stubbed your big toe? My whole body became involved in this painful experience as I hopped around on my other foot!

  5. helenl said

    What you have stated everyone knows, but sadly often we do not act as though we know it. Therein, is the challnge: to live as though we all matter, as though we are all important. This is as true in the world as it is in the church. Everyone is essential.

  6. Such a basic principle, but one too many of us forget too often! Thank you for reminding us all!

  7. Martin said

    I can relate to this because, sometimes, I do behind-the-scene activities including managing the sound system. (When the sound is good, nobody notices it….but when the sound is bad, everybody notices it) It would make a lot of difference if everybody appreciates and encourages each other’s work in the church.

    Nice post! Thanks!

  8. Amber said

    Well said!

    Romans 12:3-5
    For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

  9. jarvis said

    Amen!

    Blessings In Christ Sis

  10. Sis. Julie said

    You are so right about us patting ourselves on the back from time to time. You have made a very good point here….God is not a respecter of persons and if we are to be like Christ then we should not be either. Unfortunately…too many times we find ourselves being just that….a respecter of persons. Shame on us!!!

  11. Robk said

    I am not sure I agree entirely with this one. We do not all respond equally to God. His love is like the sun, and shines on all of us. And we each are asked to give all of who we are (which I suspect most of us struggle to do our lives). But we don’t all respond to God’s love the same – it isn’t the job, it’s how much of ourselves we give back to God.

    Just my thoughts – I have been struggling with this myself. Am I giving back to God all that I am.

Leave a Reply

