Simply Living

February 22, 2007

Yesterday evening i lay on my bed for a cat nap and realised i was surrounded by mess: clothes i couldn’t fit in the wardrobe, an old computer monitor i’d not yet thrown away, and on the top of the wardrobe were 2 of my hoarding boxes – you know the type, ones where you store things ‘just incase’ they are useful one day, yet you haven’t ventured inside for months or even years!

Every so often i need a lifestyle inventory, just like i have a regular service for my car.  I have to look at what i have and don’t use, and do some throwing out.  None of my ‘stuff’ will travel with me to the next life, only my relationship with God.

Some voluntary poverty or simplicity on my part could not only clear my life but also indirectly, in time, prevent someone elsewhere in the world enduring involuntary poverty.

Simplicity is about freedom.  Today’s world tells us our needs are our wants, and things have got muddled.  In getting back to basics we’ll be less cluttered, less stressed and more free!

p.s. Up tomorrow: boldness in heartache!

11 Responses to “Simply Living”

  1. Clutter can keep us from having a relationship with others in this life, too.

  2. Brian Alexander said

    thanks for the comment. Have a great week. God bless!

  3. Jayleigh said

    Thanks, Maria. You always seem to know what to say to challenge me in my current situation. God is so awesome. You cannot possibly know to the extent your words are affecting me. You don’t know my situation, and yet God is using you to encourage and uplift and challenge me to do what I should have done a long time ago.

    *hugs*

  4. Art said

    Thanks for the visit, Maria. Nice blog. I like this post. Isn’t it amazing what junk we fill up our homes and lives (and hearts) with?

  5. This is excellent and I couldn’t agree more! Have a great day!

  6. Sis. Julie said

    Boy oh boy!! I have several hoarding boxes…or should I say hoarding places. I hate that too. I have so much stuff and no storage space for anything. And I’m a very sentimental type of person too. I like to keep anything that someone in the church gives me…cards, trinkets, notes, gifts….they are special to me and I hate to get rid of them. But they tend to get to be too many and I have nowhere for them. It gets a bit discouraging at times.

  7. timglass said

    I would love a cat nap!

  8. eph2810 said

    Decluttering life and our surroundings is always good. My guys don’t like it when I get in the ‘cleaning’ mood. I usually toss a lot of stuff–some might be needed…

  9. Hi Maria

    I’m so glad you’re back in circulation. I missed seeing your encouraging words peppered all around the Christian blogs.

    God bless you!
    Mark.

  10. Joni said

    Once again, your timing is perfect. I needed this today.

Leave a Reply

