Too Big for Your Boots!

March 9, 2007

Unlike the common phrase of being ‘too big for your boots’, Joshua felt too small for his!!

Having travelling around with the great prophet Moses, being by his side and learning from him, Joshua was terribly daunted upon Moses’ death when he was appointed as the new leader.

In a seemingly humourous debate with God suggesting that maybe the wrong guy had been chosen to replace his master, Joshua shared how he was convinced he was the wrong guy.  Moses’ shoes were too big for him to fill and he felt overwhelmed.

When buying shoes you know what size you are, and spiritually we can think the same.  We can feel thatwe know what our gifts our and where our capability level reaches a maximum… but i believe this is to limit God.

Joshua didn’t think he would fill bigger shoes, and he was right, he couldn’t; but through the power of the Holy Spirit he was able to do more than he thought he could.  God put words into Joshua’s mouth to speak to the nations.

God can do more in you than perhaps you realise.  In the words of Isaiah – ‘widen the tent pegs!’

13 Responses to “Too Big for Your Boots!”

  1. Lorna said

    LOVED this post 🙂 it’s so counter cultural isn’t it?

    I have tiny feet (size 3 UK) and know all about wearing shoes that are too big – but what you write at the end is a wonderful reminder to me that it’s not about us (or our gifts) but about God … “Joshua didn’t think he would fill bigger shoes, and he was right, he couldn’t; but through the power of the Holy Spirit he was able to do more than he thought he could.” that applies to you and I today too 🙂

    Blessed weekend!

  2. Steve said

    Yes LORD widen the tent Pegs. Amem.

    Thanks Maria,

    Blessings.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  3. Sis. Julie said

    Amen!!! This is really good!! I have amazed even myself at times at how God has chosen to use me. I don’t deserve for Him to do so but it blesses my heart each time He does!! God is not limited to what He can do in and through His children!!

  4. Lillium said

    I read that smiled – because I SO often feel that way – even more so overwhelmed when I think that we are to “be like Christ” – and “greater works will you do”…. Really? IMHO when I accepted Christ He took my (ugly, sinful nasty boots) and gave me His. I can NOT fill them – even with all the gifts and talents He saw fit with which to bless me – so I have to embrace “nevertheless I live – yet not I but Christ lives in me” God gave me His boots – I’m expecting Him to fill them up. Love your post – great thoughts – super writing.

  5. timbob said

    Greetings. It’s great to know that we don’t have to rely on our own strength or abilities; only to be willing and obediant to Christ. Great observations along with the previous comments.

  6. We can get to feeling pretty small when we focus on our inabilities instead of the strength of the Lord. Maybe that’s why David was inspired to say…………

    Psa 34:3 O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.
    Psa 34:4 I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

  7. Very cool design! Useful information. Go on!

  8. ;-) said

    great analogy… lol

  9. chris d said

    We were just talking about this at bible study. I kept thinking how God kept telling Joshua over and over, “Be strong and of good courage.”

    I thought it was a good analogy too.

  10. breederx said

    Another great post!

  11. Jayleigh said

    Wow Maria! I was just thinking about Joshua today, only I couldn’t remember his name. I knew it started with a J, but couldn’t remember the rest. God is so awesome in just taking away that nag of a name I couldn’t recall!

    And the message? Fantastic as usual! Something’s on the horizon… no closer than that… for Rob and me. I can’t figure it out yet, but God’s been preparing me for a very long time.

    🙂 Thanks for your encouragement!

  12. YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

Leave a Reply

