Grumble Weed!

March 12, 2007

How many times have you heard yourself complain about something, whether it’s a household appliance that keeps going wrong, or about a situationat church, in the home, with your family or at work?

If you were challenged to a ‘grumble-free’ day, how would you cope? 

Moses was travelling with a large number of people to the promised land, but on the way they hit disaster!  When they were in the desert the people were annoyed that they didn’t have what God had promised yet, and they began to moan. 

When we moan we have to ask ourselves whether we’re actually complaining about God’s will, not being patient as we wait for it’s fulfilment.  We can be cross and say ‘the desert doesn’t look much like the promised land’, so we get annoyed and sometimes distracted from fixing our eyes on the goal.

God, help us when your purposes are yet to unfold, and give us wisdom to know  when to step out of a situation because it’s not Your will. 

TRY BEING GRUMBLE FREE TODAY & SEE IF YOUR DAY GOES BETTER!

10 Responses to “Grumble Weed!”

  1. […] post by Maria Toth and software by Elliott […]

  2. Three hours and going strong…lol.

  3. DulceDiana said

    Hi Maria.

    I was reading this last night. I believe its no coincidence.

    “Woe to him who strives with him who formed him, a pot among earthen pots! Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’? – Isaiah 45:9 (ESV)

  4. helenl said

    I was doing fine ’til I got up. LOL

  5. Scotti said

    Thanks for the challenge! I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!

    God Bless,
    Scotti

  6. timbob said

    Amen. To do all things without murmerings. This will sound nutty but for me grumblings serve a purpose. They let me know that I haven’t been in prayer as I need to be. Like an alarm. Great post and indeed a grumble-free day is the best.
    Be blessed always in Christ.

    timbob

  7. Maybe if we would count our blessings more we would grumble less?

  8. stuartdelony said

    Grumble free!?! Man, you’re always giving us stuff to do and…

    Oh wait, I’m not supposed to be grumbling. Okay I’ll start….now!

  9. Amber said

    I’m quite a grumbler… not sure if I could make it all day but maybe I’ll give it a shot tomorrow…

    Good thoughts…

  10. jeff said

    No fair, I was raised Jewish – its an inborn characteristic to complain about something. But, if you are not complaining about something everything must be perfect – right?

Leave a Reply

