Madame Blueberry

October 18, 2006

“So long , farewell… ”  No, i’m not saying that because i’m leaving the blogging world after a mere 5 days (site reached 1000 hits last night!), or because i’m auditioning for The Sound of Music, but rather because i have been reflecting on how i often value something much more when it’s gone. 

But where do blueberries fit in?

It’s only when the internet’s down i realise the gift of 24hr access.  Or when the boiler breaks i appreciate hot water as a luxury!  The same is true with people and situations.  I can find myself complaining about someone or something, but when they are not in my life anymore for me to grumble about i can finally clock their worth.

We can moan about the mess a dog makes but when it dies i’m sure its messy nature would seem insignificant if only it could come back to life!

I often go on about my early morning starts for work in the winter, moaning because it’s cold and dark.  (If you don’t know what work i do beyond writing a blog and want to guess my job then go ahead -there are clues in the others posts- it could be a laugh!)  When it’s sunny in the summer though i feel blessed because i can actually get out in the sunshine in the afternoons as early starts mean early finishes.

The cartoon character, Madame Blueberry, complained about everything and always wanted more so she sung “I’m so blue” (both literally as she was a blueberry and also inside too!) until one day she lost it all and she then treasured the things she had had and was able to sing “A thankful heart is a happy heart”

Today’s challenge to myself – quit grumbling and thank God for 10 things at least!

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” (Colossians 4:2)

“Don’t grumble against each other, brothers, or you will be judged. The Judge is standing at the door!” (James 5:9)

“Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.” (1Peter 4:9)

18 Responses to “Madame Blueberry”

  1. Quit grumbling and thank God for 10 things at least – that’s a great attitude! It reminds me of the Jesuit practice of the Examen of Conscience/Consciousness. Here’s a good link for that: http://norprov.org/spirituality/ignatianprayer.htm

    An attitude of gratitude is a wonderful trait to develop.

  2. AutumnRose said

    What a neat idea ~ 10 things to praise God for!

    I think I’ll make that my next entry 🙂

    God bless and have a lovely day (and how wonderful all the hits and comments you’re getting!)

  3. Maria Toth said

    Indeed – an ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE!

    Thank you Lord for Your love this day and thank you for Autumn Rose and Stephen.

    Bless all those who visit this site today.
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  4. helenl said

    Hi Maria, Do you have any idea how many mirrors I’ve not looked in today? And it’s only 9:37 am local time.

  5. Brian Alexander said

    I have been busy. I need to update my blog soon.

    -Brian

  6. Maria Toth said

    Well done! It’s 2.41pm here… I caught myself in the reflection of a door! Oops!

    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  7. prying1 said

    Maria –

    In reading your posting I was reminded of
    1 Thes 5:16-18 –
    ~~~~~
    16 Rejoice evermore.

    17 Pray without ceasing.

    18 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
    ~~~~~

    God makes it real easy to step into His will even when we have wandered far from it. He is such a great God!

  8. Marcus said

    Finally, I’ve got round to paying your site a visit! Read today’s entry and comments. Curious – still not exactly sure what a ‘blog’ is, perhaps you can shed some light?

    M
    🙂

  9. Maria Toth said

    May tomorrows blog entry can be on the meaning of blogging and why we blog, Marcus.

    Thanks to everyone for their thoughts.
    Blessings,
    Maria
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  10. Jason said

    There is more good then bad, we just need to take the right perspective 🙂

  11. chris d said

    Saw your post at Rebecca Miller’s A Christian Worldview of Fiction.

    I think your suggestion about 10 things to be thankful for is great!

    Have a great day!

  12. I enjoy reading your site!

    Have a great week!

    Sarah

  13. Another great post, Maria. Things really do go much better when we are thankful. Thanks for this remind to have Thanksgiving often and not just on the last Thursday in Novemeber.(in the U.S., that is)

    Carol

  14. Esther said

    Nice blog! I will visit again.

  15. Makes it kinda hard to drive, doesn’t it?

  16. The Bible says “In ALL Things Give Thanks”. Not just the good. I like your attitude on finding 10 things to thank God for daily.

    What a great way to start the day.

    God Bless you.

  17. Jen said

    Hi Again, Maria! Thanks for coming to my blog so often!!!

Leave a comment